166 vie for outstanding government worker awards
Elizabeth Marcelo (The Philippine Star) - November 23, 2020 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines — A total of 166 public servants are competing for the Outstanding Government Worker awards conferred annually by the Civil Service Commission.

The CSC said the aspirants are the regional winners of the 2020 Search for Outstanding Government Workers.

The regional winners will compete at the national level for the three categories: Presidential Lingkod Bayan, Outstanding Public Officials and Employees or Dangal ng Bayan and the CSC Pagasa.

“These awards are the highest and most coveted recognition given to individuals or group of individuals who have excelled or shown utmost dedication and commitment in government service,” the CSC said.

Davao region and Western Visayas have the most number of qualifiers with 25 and 20, respectively, followed by the National Capital Region with 16.

Ilocos Region, Central Luzon and the Cordillera Administrative Region named 12 contenders each. Cagayan Valley and Southern Luzon named 11 aspirants each and Bicol has seven.

Central Visayas has seven regional winners while Eastern Visayas has six.

For Mindanao, the Caraga has nine regional winners, Northern Mindanao has eight, Bangsamoro Autonomous Region for Muslim Mindanao has five, Soccsksargen has three and Zamboanga peninsula has two.

A committee on awards composed of representatives from the CSC, Office of the President and other distinguished individuals will conduct a selection and review to identify the semi-finalists.

“Those who will be selected will be subjected to background investigation and validation of declared accomplishments,” the CSC said.

The annual search for Outstanding Government Workers is administered by the CSC’s Honor Awards Program (HAP) Secretariat to recognize “exemplary performance and display of integrity in public service.”

The Presidential Lingkod Bayan is conferred on an individual or group for extraordinary contributions that had nationwide impact.

The Dangal ng Bayan is awarded to a state worker for performance of extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior in adherence to the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.

The CSC Pagasa award is given to an individual or group of individuals for outstanding contributions that directly benefit more than one department of the government.

For more details on this year’s search, e-mail the HAP Secretariat at hapsecretariat@csc.gov.ph or hapsecretariat@gmail.com.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with