Rival’s supporters protest Fresnedi victory

Jose Rodel Clapano, Perseus Echeminada - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines – Supporters of former mayor Aldrin San Pedro picketed the Muntinlupa city hall yesterday to protest the election results.

Reelectionist Mayor Jaime Fresnedi of the Liberal Party (LP) was proclaimed the winner yesterday morning, hours after San Pedro’s supporters started picketing the city hall Monday night, claiming fraud after allegedly finding that 23 clustered precincts registered zero votes for him.

San Pedro is the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) candidate.  

Fresnedi received 124,538 votes while San Pedro got 67,849.

Fresnedi urged residents to accept the results as San Pedro conceded defeat and denied rumors he had ordered his supporters to stage a protest.

 “We must prevent any action that may led to violence,” San Pedro said.

Celso Dioko (LP) won as vice mayor with 102,665 votes against Councilor Raul Corro (UNA), who garnered 95,519 votes.

Former Bureau of Customs chief Ruffy Biazon (LP) was also proclaimed winner in the city’s congressional race with 134,844 votes. He defeated former Movie and Television Review and Classification Board chief Ronnie Ricketts (UNA), who received 69,131 votes.

In Pasay, reelectionist Mayor Antonio Calixto (LP) received 113,218 votes against UNA’s Lito Roxas, who got 42,441 votes.

Boyet del Rosario (LP), with 94,362 votes, beat reelectionist Vice Mayor Marlon Pesebre (UNA), who received 81,389 votes.

Rep. Emi Calixto-Rubiano (LP) won a third and final term, receiving 135,034 votes against Sonny Qual, who got 29,145 votes.

In Pateros, independent bet Ike Ponce won as mayor, receiving 9,760 votes, against beauty queen Daisy Reyes, also an independent, who got 8,444 votes.

Vice Mayor Gerald German, who ran as independent, won another term. He received 12,533 votes against Nacionalista Party’s (NP) Bobot Cerubo, who got 5,695 votes.

Arnel Cerafica (LP) won as another term as congressman with 81,143 votes against independent bet Gloria Cabrera, who got 9,804 votes.

The Cayetanos still dominated Taguig City. Mayor Laarni Cayetano (NP) ran unopposed, receiving 223,873 votes.

Her sister-in-law, former senator Pia Cayetano (NP), who sought to represent Taguig in the House of Representatives, received 92,992 votes against UNA’s Cheche Gonzales, who got 41,025 votes.

Vice Mayor Ricardo Cruz (NP) ran unopposed for another term, receiving 206,721 votes. In Parañaque, Mayor Edwin Olivarez ran unopposed, getting 192,451 votes.

Rico Golez, son of former congressman Roilo Golez, won the vice mayoral race against Jeremy Marquez, son of former mayor Joey Marquez. Golez got 118,928 votes against Marquez’s 93,574.

In the congressional race, the LP’s Eric Olivarez received 79,351 votes against independent Vic Celeridad’s 2,230 votes in District 1 while Gus Tambunting (UNA) won with 63,955 votes against the elder Golez, who received 60,927 votes in District 2.

vuukle comment
  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with