Metro Manila, Laguna, Cebu City under 'modified' ECQ until May 31

Metro Manila, Laguna, Cebu City under 'modified' ECQ until May 31
In this May 8, 2020 photo, Taguig City uses the Lakeshore Activity Center as an isolation center and a drive thru testing areas for the city's residents.
The STAR / Walter Bollozos, file

MANILA, Philippines (4th update, 7:02 p.m.; May 13) — President Rodrigo Duterte on Tuesday announced that he approved the recommendation to extend the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) in Metro Manila, Laguna and Cebu City until May 31, with modifications in protocols.

The Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases recommended placing the three areas considered as high-risk for COVID-19 infections under a revised ECQ scheme, extending the lockdown for 15 more days since mid-March.

As presidential spokesperson Harry Roque presented, the variations in protocols and policies are as follows:

ALSO READ: What is modified, enhanced, general quarantine? Here's how to tell the difference

Area classification and interventions: Community quarantine
ECQ: Enhanced Community Quarantine Modified ECQ GCQ: General Community Quarantine Modified GCQ
(critical zone) (containment zone) (buffer zone) (outside buffer zone)
No movement regardless of age and health status. Limited movement within zone for obtaining essential services and work. Limited movement to services and work within buffer zone and outside buffer zone. Permissive socio-economic activities with minimum public health standards.
Minimal economic activity except for utility services (ie food, power, water, etc.) and critical economic sector. Operation of selected manufacturing and processing plants up to a maximum 50% workforce. Operation of government offices and industries up to a maximum of 75% workforce.  
No transportation activity except for utility services. Limited transporting services for essential goods and services. Limited transporting services to support government and private sectot operations.  
Suspension of physical classes. Suspension of physical classes. Flexible learning arrangements; operate at limited capacities to support students.  

The following areas considered moderate-risk will be under general community quarantine:

CAR (Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City)
Region II (Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Santiago City
Region III (Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Olongapo City)
Region IV-A (Cavite, Quezon, Rizal, Batangas, Lucena City)
Region VII (Bohol, Cebu province, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City)
Region IX (Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City, Isabela City)
Region XI (Davao City, Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental)
Region XIII (Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City)

In areas under GCQ, there would be limited movement to services and work within the so-called buffer zone and outside buffer zone. Operation of government offices and industries would have a maximum of 75% workforce.

Transporting services will also be limited to support government and private operations. Learning arrangements will also be flexible and would have to operate at limited capacities to cater to students.

Other regions in the country labeled as low risk will be under a modified General Community Quarantine, the guidelines for which have yet to be released.

The government identified the following regions as low-risk:

Region I (Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan City)
Region IV-B (Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City)
Region V (Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Sorsogon, Legazpi City, Naga City)
Region VI (Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Iloilo City, Bacolod City)
Region VIII (Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, Tacloban City)
Region X (Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City)
Region XII (North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, General Santos City)
BARMM (Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City)

Common protocols across community quarantine levels

According to the National Action Plan released on Wednesday, the following safety protocols will be implemented at every level of the community quarantine:

  • "No mask, no entry"
  • Frequent sanitation and handwashing
  • Avoid touching surfaces and face
  • Stricter protocols for higher-risk occupations, industries, and spaces

People are supposed to be at least one meter apart, which could mean reconfigured work spaces in industries allowed to return to work and a prohibition of coming into to the office if showing possible COVID-19 symptoms.

Companies that are resuming operations must also have work from home as a default. Employers must provide private shuttles for their workers and all employees must undergo antibody testing and a confirmatory PCR test if necessary. — Patricia Lourdes Viray, infographics from National Action Plan released by Office of the Presidential Spokesperson

Related video:

vuukle comment






As It Happens
LATEST UPDATE: August 5, 2021 - 9:01pm

A thread of major news, developments and government pronouncements related the extended community quarantine across the country. Real-time updates about the coronavirus outbreak in the Philippines are available in this live blog. (Main image by AFP/Ted Aljibe)

August 5, 2021 - 9:01pm

The province of Laguna and the cities of Iloilo and Cagayan de Oro will be placed on lockdown until the middle of August, Malacañang announces.

"President Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to place Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) beginning Aug. 6 until Aug. 15, 2021," presidential spokesman Harry Roque says in a statement.

Iloilo and Cagayan de Oro have been under the strictest quarantine classification since July 16. — The STAR/Alexis Romero

June 11, 2021 - 4:28pm

The Department of Health reports an additional 6,686 COVID-19 infections, bringing the national tally to 1,300,349.

  • Active cases: 61,345 or 4.7%% of the total
  • Recoveries: 3,190, pushing total to 1,216,497
  • Deaths: 196, bringing total to 22,507
August 3, 2020 - 7:14am

President Rodrigo Duterte approves the recommendation of Cabinet members to place Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal under modified enhanced community quarantine.

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque says the new quarantine measures will be imposed starting midnight of August 4 and will stay in place until August 18.

June 29, 2020 - 12:32pm

The inter-agency task force on COVID-19 imposes a moratorium on the transit of locally stranded persons in Western Visayas, Cebu island, Mactan, Eastern Visayas and Caraga.

"Wala na po silang lugar para mag-quarantine," IATF spokesperson Harry Roque says in a virtual briefing. 

(They have no place to undergo quarantine anymore.)

June 28, 2020 - 4:29pm

The Department of Health announces 485 "fresh" COVID-19 cases on Sunday, June 28.

Another 168 are "late" cases, or "released to patients four days ago or more."

Most of the cases are still from the National Capital Region, with 245 "fresh" and 111 "late."

Central Visayas accounts for 120 "fresh" cases and 11 "late" ones. 

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with