Six firms bag top awards for responsible mining

Louise Maureen Simeon - The Philippine Star
Six firms bag top awards for responsible mining
MINING FIRM WINS 2ND PRESIDENTIAL AWARD: Agata Mining Ventures Inc. was once again conferred the prestigious Presidential Mineral Industry Environmental Award at the recent Annual National Mine Safety and Environment Conference last week in Baguio City. The awarding ceremony was led by Chamber of Mines of the Philippines chairman Jerry Brimo and DENR Usec. Annaliza Teh (1st and 3rd from left, respectively), while Agata was represented by (from left) general manager Emilio Figueroa III, assistant GM Anthony Quijano, safety superintendent Aldrin Arieta, environment manager Jesalyn Guingging and community relations officer Kahlil Pope Tabernero. The recognition is the highest national honor for safety and environmental excellence in the mining industry.

BAGUIO CITY , Philippines — Six out of the 22 shortlisted mining firms in the country bagged the Presidential Mineral Industry Environmental Award (PMIEA), the industry’s most prestigious award, given as part of efforts to promote responsible extraction of minerals.

Daet-based Mt. Labo Exploration and Development Corp. and Mindanao Mineral Processing and Refining Corp. received the PMIEA for their environmentally and socially responsible mineral explorations and mineral processing, respectively.

For quarry operations, Aboitiz-owned Republic Cement and Building Materials Inc. and listed building solution company Holcim Mining and Development Corp. bagged the PMIEA.

Further, Agata Mining Ventures Inc. secured a back-to-back PMIEA for surface mining.

Agata Mining, a joint venture company of TVI Resource Development Philippines Inc. and MRL Nickel Philippines, is located in the municipalities of Jabonga, Santiago and Tubay in Agusan del Norte primarily involved in the development and mining of nickel laterite direct shipping ore.

Also for surface mining, Nickel Asia Corp. subsidiary Cagdianao Mining Corp. got the PMIEA. CMC operates in Dinagat Islands within the Surigao Mineral Reservation and it exports saprolite and limonite ore.

Other minor awardees include Coral Bay Nickel Corp. and Taganito HPAL Nickel Corp., both under Nickel Asia, for mineral processing.

Awardees for quarry operations include LafargeHolcim Aggregates Inc., and Eagle Cement Corp.

For surface mining, PMSEA also recognized Hinatuan Mining Corp. Carmen Copper Corp., Platinum Group Metals Corp., and CTP Construction and Mining Corp.

Filminera Resources Corp. was also awarded for mineral exploration and Apex Mining Co. Inc. for underground operations.

The PMIEA was established under Executive Order No. 399 in compliance with the policy that mineral exploration activities and mining operations shall not only be pro-environment, but also pro-people.

The PMIEA Selection Committee is composed of Cabinet secretaries from five government departments and three line agencies led by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, as well as officials from three industry organizations composed of the Chamber of Mines of the Philippines, Philippine Mine Safety and Environment Association and the Philippine Mineral Exploration Association.

PMIEA is part of the 66th Annual National Mine Safety and Environment Conference, which is hosted by PMSEA, which promotes occupational safety and health, sound environmental management and social responsibility in the minerals industry.

vuukle comment




  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with