Freeman Cebu Sports

Ahn, Dayot, alumni top UP HS ’84 golf tournament

The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines - Cebu-based Korean Andrew Ahn and Jun Dayot led the winners of the University of the Philippines College Cebu High School Batch ’84 Tournament played Friday at the Mactan Island Golf Club in Lapu-Lapu City.

Several UP High School alumni were also in the winners’ circle of the event dubbed as Shot for a Cause, which was held to raise funds for the college scholarship grant that the organizers were giving to poor, but deserving graduates of their Alma Mater.

Ahn fired even-par 36 on the front nine and carded two-over-par 38 on the back nine for a total of 74 strokes that won him the overall lowest gross plum.

Dayot fired nines of 46 and 40 and established a System-36 handicap of 16 for a net 70.  He beat three others for the overall lowest net plum by virtue of having scored more birdies.

UP High graduate lawyer Nilo Seno of batch ’82 topped class A with a net score of 70 off a gross 84 beating two others in the countback by having scored more pars.

First runner-up was Jun Zambo, who also had a net 70 and with a gross score of 85 edging Jun Yap in the countback.  Yap, who also had a net of 70 off a gross 91 strokes settled for the second runner-up trophy.

The class B title went to Ed Franco with a net score of 72 strokes winning the title by virtue of having scored more pars.  First runner-up was Lt. Col. Elvis Jequinto with a net score of 72 edging second runner-up Max Reyes, who also had a net 72, in the tie break.

The class C title went to Nimrod Quiñones of UP High School batch ’85 with a net score of 76.  First runner-up was Eugene Espinosa with a net score of 77 edging Radi Abarintos of UP High batch ’79 in the countback.  Abarintos settled for the second runner-up honors.

In the ladies division, Vergie Lou Hwang carded a net score of 72 to win the title.  First runner-up was Rachel Darnall with a net score of 73 while second runner-up was lawyer Dalisay Chavez Ohdate of UP High School batch ’84 with a net score of 73.

The jungolf division title went to King Abarintos with a net score of 73.

Special awards also went to Ahn for the most birdies with six, Jufil Sato for most pars with 11 and Rhea Guaves as most exercised.

Ferdie Esteller made the longest drive on Hole No. 1 hitting his tee shot 257 yards while Jun Yap, whose tee shot landed on the center line, had the most accurate drive on No. 17.

Jun Dayot was nearest the pin on the island green of No. 15 leaving 2 feet and 4 inches for a birdie putt while Ed Franco had the longest putt on No. 18 nailing it from 13 feet.

The awards ceremony was hosted by Tinago, Cebu City Barangay Captain Joel Garganera and was graced by their batch president lawyer Alfred Jacinto and past president former Cebu 3rd District Rep. Pablo John Garcia. (PR from fullpointcebu.com) (FREEMAN)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with