List of lawmakers who voted for and against ABS-CBN franchise renewal

Bella Perez-Rubio - Philstar.com
List of lawmakers who voted for and against ABS-CBN franchise renewal
A caravan protest in support of the renewal of franchise of media giant ABS-CBN Corp.
The STAR / Felicer Santos

MANILA, Philippines (3rd update, 6:57 p.m.) — The House of Representatives on Friday carried out President Rodrigo Duterte's threats to shut down ABS-CBN, with an overwhelming majority of 70 legislators voting to deny the network a new franchise and its 11,000 workers stable jobs amid the coronavirus crisis.

Only 11 lawmakers cast votes in support of the renewal, while two inhibited and one opted to abstain. A majority vote of 44 was needed to approve the resolution denying the company's franchise.

Here is the list of lawmakers who voted "No" to the resolution denying the network's franchise renewal, according to Kabataan Partylist Rep. Sarah Elago:

  1. Sol Aragones (Laguna 3rd District)
  2. Christopher De Venecia (Pangasinan 4th District)
  3. Carlos Zarate (Bayan Muna Party-list)
  4.  Gabriel Bordado (Camarines Sur 3rd District)
  5. Vilma Santos (Batangas 6th District)
  6. Lianda Bolilia (Batangas 4th District)
  7. Jose Tejada (North Cotabato 4th District)
  8. Bienvenido Abante (Manila 6th District)
  9. Stella Quimbo (Marikina 2nd District)
  10. Mujiv Hataman (Basilan Lone District)
  11. Edward Maceda (Manila 4th District)

Former actor Rep. Alfred Vargas (Quezon City) inhibited from voting, citing "conflict of interest." Rep. Micaela Violago (Nueva Ecija) also inhibited.

The 70 who voted "Yes" to the resolution to reject the franchise.

  1. Raneo Abu
  2. Cyrille Abueg-Zaldivar
  3. Gil Acosta
  4. Atonio Albano
  5. Samantha Louise Alfonso
  6. Juan Miguel Macapagal Arroyo
  7. Cristal Bagatsing
  8. Julienne Baronda
  9. Elpidio Barzaga Jr.
  10. Claudine Bautista
  11. Juan Pablo Bondoc
  12. Antonio Calixto
  13. Prescious Castelo
  14. Joaquin Chipeco Jr.
  15. Ma. Theresa Collantes
  16. Anthony Peter Crisologo
  17. Francisco Datol
  18. Mike Defensor
  19. Paulo Duterte
  20. Faustino Michael Dy
  21. Faustino V. Dy
  22. Ian Paul Dy
  23. Conrado Estrella III
  24. Ria Christina Fariñas
  25. Dan Fernandez
  26. Bayani Fernando
  27. Luis Ferrer IV
  28. Pablo John Garcia
  29. Janette Garin
  30. Sharon Garin
  31. Weslie Gatchalian
  32. Sandro Gonzales
  33. Eduardo Gullas
  34. Bernadette Herrera-Dy
  35. Dulce Ann Hofer
  36. Eleandro Jesus Madrona
  37. Dale Malapitan
  38. Esmael Mangudadatu
  39. Rodante Marcoleta
  40. Eric Martinez
  41. Francisco Matugas
  42. Raymond Mendoza
  43. Roger Mercado
  44. John Marvin Nieto
  45. Jose Fidel Nograles
  46. Jericho Nograles
  47. Henry Oaminal
  48. Joseph Stephen Paduano
  49. Wilter Palma II
  50. Enrico Pineda
  51. Jesus Crispin Remulla
  52. Strike Revilla
  53. Yedda Romualdez
  54. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez
  55. Xavier Jesus Romualdo
  56. Deogracias Savellano
  57. Frederick Siao
  58. Jose Singson Jr.
  59. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado
  60. Alyssa Sheena Tan
  61. Sharee Ann Tan
  62. Arnolfo Teves Jr.
  63. Abraham Tolentino
  64. Allan Ty
  65. Christian Unabia
  66. Rolando Valeriano
  67. Luis Villafuerte Jr.
  68. Camille Villar
  69. Eric Yap
  70. Divina Grace Yu

Rep. Alfredo Garbin Jr. abstained. 

vuukle comment



As It Happens
LATEST UPDATE: May 23, 2023 - 1:36pm

ABS-CBN Corp. stopped broadcasting on its TV and radio stations on May 5, 2020 after the National Telecommunications Commission issued a cease and desist order. The network's franchise had lapsed on May 4 without action by the House of Representatives.

May 23, 2023 - 1:36pm

ABS-CBN announces that it will cease operations of TeleRadyo, which has been in the red since 2020, by June 30.

August 11, 2022 - 9:37am

In a disclosure, ABS confirms signing of deal that sees the broadcast giant enter into a joint venture with MVP's TV5. — Ramon Royandoyan


January 27, 2021 - 3:35pm

Rep. Mike Defensor (Anakalusugan Party-list) attempts to put the ABS-CBN franchise up for a vote in the plenary, saying it should be taken up as it is in the House's unfinished business.

The House rejects his motion, but he appeals this. House leaders later on commit to begin tackling its unfinished business beginning Monday. —  Xave Gregorio

January 18, 2021 - 3:38pm

Rep. Vilma Santos-Recto (Batangas) has filed a bill seeking the renewal of the franchise granted to broadcast giant ABS-CBN.

Senate President Vicente Sotto III earlier filed a similar bill at the Senate, saying a majority of Filipinos get their news primarily from TV. 

Franchise bills emanate from the House of Representatives.

January 5, 2021 - 8:00pm

Malacañang is leaving it up to Congress to decide on the new bill seeking to renew the franchise of television network ABS-CBN, which was forced to lay off thousands of workers after its franchise expired last May. 

Presidential spokesman Harry Roque disagreed, saying the fate of the bill depends on lawmakers. 

"Well, again, I beg to differ; that is a sole constitutional prerogative of Congress which must originate from the House of Representatives," Roque says at a press briefing. —  Alexis Romero

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with