Freeman Cebu Sports

Salano and Torregosa reign supreme in SM2SM Run 12

Caecent No-ot Magsumbol - The Freeman
Salano and Torregosa reign supreme in SM2SM Run 12
Armyman Richard Salano and USC track and field athlete Art Joy Torregosa emerge as champions in the premiere 21K category of the highly successful SM2SM Run 12 yesterday starting and ending at SM Seaside City.

CEBU, Philippines — Armyman Richard Salano and University of San Carlos (USC) track and field athlete Art Joy Torregosa bested a strong field of competitors that included foreign runners to reign supreme in the premiere 21K category of the highly successful SM2SM Run 12 yesterday starting and ending at SM Seaside City.

Salano, who missed last years edition because of the Tokyo Marathon, returned to Cebu to avenge his loss to Kenyan Eric Chipsiror back in 2018 even if he just had a full marathon race in Manila last week.

Medyo kinabahan lang ako nung una dahil galing ako sa 42km na ako din ang nanalo (Manila International Marathon). Hindi ito recovery run ko dahil gusto ko lang talaga makabawi sana sa kanya (Eric Chipsiror), Salano said.

Though the foreigners have a separate category, the 32-year Salano still wanted to outsmart Chipsiror and he succeeded, finishing the race with the best time of one hour, eight minutes, and 56 seconds.

Cebu s Prince Joey Lee landed at second place with a time of 1:10:43, while Jason Padayao wound up third in 1:11:06. The fourth to 10th placers were Florendo Lapiz (1:11:06), James Kevin Cruz (1:12:16), Joseph Arnel Emia (1:18:27), Markiven Revilla (1:18:55), James Palma (1:19:59), Michel Largo (1:21:05), and Jojie Daga-as (1:21:47).

Chipsiror, though missing the overall crown, still has something to be happy about as he topped the men s 21K foreigners class with a time of 1:09:03. He edged his fellow Kenyan Joseph Kigongo Mururi (1:25:24), while Karl Gosta Anton placed third in 1:32:01.

In the distaff side, Torregosa clinched her first 21K crown despite having only two weeks to prepare due to injury she sustained after winning this years Cebu City Marathon.

Wa gyud ko ga-expect nga makadaog ko ron kay na-injury ko pagkahuman sa CCM like one month gyud ang recovery nya two weeks ra akong training.Dako kaayo akong pasalamat ni Lord labi na nga gitagaan ko ani na blessing,  said Torregosa, who clocked in 1:26:03, just 20 seconds ahead of second placers Nhea Ann Barcena (1:26:23).

Lizane Abella ended third in 1:26:44, while Cherry Andrin was fourth in 1:26:52. Rounding up the top 10 were Nely Rose Bendanillo (1:34:47), Jamine Cruz (1:35:19), Gretchen Sambo (1:35:59), Kay Razel Cundangan (1:36:42), Jocelyn Elijeran (1:36:49) and Ave Marie Abos (1:39:13).

In the women s 21K foreigners, Chin Chin Tan came out the fastest in 1:51:42 followed by Fabienne Wyss (1:58:42) and Buenafe Trout (2:07:37).

The other top performers in the 21K battle were Elmer Bartolo (1:21:52) and Madelyn Carter (1:39:49) in the 40-49 age group and

Desederio Engbino (1:27:48) and Lucita Fernandez (1:51:18) in the 50-above.

The rest of the top three winners were John Mark Dizon (25:27.02), Ricky Arganeza (25:30.86) and Junel Gobotia (26:28.19) in the men s 8K, Asia Paraase (32:15.750), Emmalyn Taypin (33:35.440) and Maria Lyn Pantallano (33:44.930) in the women s 8K, Noli Torre (12:47.32), Jessie Abelgos (13:09) and Arcelo Coswaldo (13:40) in the men s 4K, and Cathy Lingcong (17:02), Jasrin Noval (17:07), and  Amirah Lacanaria (17:22) in the women s 4K.

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with