Cebu News

City Hall revamps officials

Caecent No-ot Magsumbol - The Freeman
City Hall revamps officials
City Administrator Collin Rosell announces to City Hall employees the reshuffling of City Hall department heads and assistant department heads after yesterday’s flag ceremony.

CEBU, Philippines — As scheduled earlier, changes and movements of some departments were announced yesterday with city administrator Atty. Collin Rosell having his hands full with another assignment given to him.

“This morning, we are to embark certain changes…Changes is the only constant thing in this world…The point is that, we change for the better and the mayor has been emphasizing that change, continuous improvement has to be made in order to gratify and satisfy the people whom the government employees have been serving,” Rosell said yesterday during their flag-raising ceremony at the City Hall grounds.

Rosell, aside from being the city administrator will now also be Cebu City Medical Center (CCMC) administrator. He is tasked to oversee the said hospital’s completion as well as its expansion site at the location of the Bureau of Fire Protection regional office and former CITOM office right now.

Dr. Peter Mancao will remain CCMC’s chief of hospital with Dr. Anton Oliver Reposar II as assistant department head and assistant chief of hospital.

The assistant hospital administrator for finance will be Atty. Esteban Pascua, assistant hospital administrator for administration Daisy Castillo, while Audrey Rose Garganera remains as dean of CCMC’s College of Nursing.

Meanwhile, Atty. Dominic Diño returns as Mayor Michael Rama’s executive secretary after his predecessor, Remedios Vestil Mondigo, was assigned as head of the Cultural, Heritage, and Arts Office.

Aside from that, Diño was tasked as Rama’s representative in the Mining Regulatory Board, Joint Venture Selection Committee, Police Coordinating and Advisory Council, and the City Peace and Order Council.

Meanwhile, Glicerio “Cerj Michael” Germodo Jr. is now Mayor Rama’s chief of staff, replacing Kim Esmeña-Banquirigo who now focuses on the Local School Board (LSB).

From LSB, Ian Hassamal now formally heads the Department of General Services (DGS) and concurrent assistant city administrator, alongside lawyers Offie Bragat, John Michael Lequigan, and Jose Marie Poblete, and Engr. Joel Biton, who will also oversee street lighting.

Hassamal will now be assisted also by Robert Barquilla, concurrent head of the Office of the City Markets in the DGS while the latter keeps his post as the market division head.

Portia Basmayor was assigned to the Department of Social Welfare and Services while the Cebu City’s Operation Second Chance facility will now be managed by Major Severino “Jun” Tabay.

The Department of Engineering and Public Works will now be led by Engr. Joel Reston while Mark Abella Ceballos now heads of the Division for the Welfare of the Urban Poor.

Ceballos’ predecessor, lawyer Ronald Anthony “Butch” Librando, is moving to the City Legal Office to work as legal and compliance officer for the aspiring sector aside from heading the city’s Megawide Project Oversight Committee and with fellow lawyers Jopet Baena and John Michael Lequigan, will serve as special assistants for political, legal, and barangay affairs.

Resident ombudsman Atty. Homer Cabaral will be the new head of the Office of the Senior Citizens Affairs (OSCA), replacing Vicente Esmeña who now heads the Barangay Affairs Office.

The city’s Prevention, Restoration, Order, Beautification, and Enhancement (PROBE) north district will be headed by retired general Aderson Comar, while the south district will be headed by former special assistant for special projects Kevin Sanchez.

Chuck Cañete, head of the Civil Security Unit, will also lead a team to help manage the Cebu City Sports Commission and Cebu City Sports Center.

Cinbeth Orellano, aside from being a protocol officer of Rama, will focus on Sinulog sa Sugbo World 2025 with Elmer “Jojo” Labella, executive director of Sinulog Foundation, Inc., while Rhoda Uy now heads the Public Information Office.

The South Road Properties governing board will now be headed by Jay Yuvallos, who just got elected as president of the Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industry with Roberto “Bu” Varquez still the SRP manager or executive director.

Engr. Dante “Dax” Arcilla, aside from leading the Management Information and Computer Services, will serve as leader of the mayor’s special projects team. — (FREEMAN)

vuukle comment


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with