3 Caraga provinces hit by dry spell

Ben Serrano - The Philippine Star

BUTUAN CITY, Philippines – Thirteen towns and two cities in three provinces in the Caraga region have been affected by El Niño.

At least 3,795 farmers were affected in Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Sur and Surigao del Norte, according to a statement issued yesterday by the regional office of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD).

Citing records from the Department of Agriculture, the DSWD said the affected areas are Cabadbaran City and the towns of Taganaan, Buenavista, Carmen, Las Nieves, Santiago, Jabonga and Kitcharao in Surigao del Norte; Lanuza, Carmen, Madrid, Cantilan, Hinatuan and Gigaquit in Surigao del Sur and Butuan City in Agusan del Norte.

City agriculturist Rolando Buca said 50 of the 86 barangays in Butuan were affected and P81.1 million worth of crops and livestock were destroyed.

The DSWD said it is monitoring El Niño-hit areas and verifying the number of affected farmers.

Affected farmers can avail themselves of cash and food for work program among other livelihood assistance, the DSWD said.         


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with