Gloc 9 dominates 27th Awit Awards
Jude Bautista (The Philippine Star) - December 18, 2014 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - In his typical modest manner, rapper-composer Gloc-9 gave more credit and tribute to his collaborating artists and producer Jonathan Ong after winning an incredible four major trophies at the 27th Awit Awards held recently at The Newport Performing Arts Theater (NPAT) of Resort’s World Manila.

Gloc-9 received the Album of the Year award for Liham at Lihim, Song of the Year, Best Collaboration Performance and Best Rap for Magda (featuring Rico Blanco). He was also the featured artist in Papel, written and performed by Joey Ayala who also won for Best Novelty Recording. Last year, Gloc-9 also won Best Song (Sirena) and Album of the Year (Makata).

“For a  composer who doesn’t know how to play a single musical instrument, I am very thankful to the people who helped in making this album,” said Gloc-9.

Magda is about a man finding out that his first love has become so desperate that she has turned to prostitution. Gloc-9 insisted that he looks at it not from the point of view of the man in the song but more as a father, “Sa akin nag-uumpisa lahat sa pagiging tama ng isang kanta kung ito’y sisimulan mo ng sincerity. Lagi kong sinasabi ay hindi dahil may kilala akong prostitute, kung hindi dahil ako ay isang tatay ng isang batang babae. At hindi ko alam kung gaano kasakit sa isang ama na ang trabaho ng kanyang mahal na anak na babae ay ganoon nga. Feeling ko ‘yon talaga ang tumatawid sa tao regardless if he is listening to it on the radio or the song is being screened for awards category. Lagi kong sinasabi na ito ay biyaya din. Ang kanta minsan pag na record ko na at narinig ko ulit minsan di rin ako makapaniwala na ako ang nagsulat noon e. I treat them as blessings.”



The title and message of the song are reminiscent of an earlier iconic hit from the ’70s by Freddie Aguilar titled Magdalena. Although musically they are literally worlds apart — one being a fast paced, hip-hop rock song while Aguilar’s is more of a folk song.

Abra, on the other hand, was nominated in a few categories and won Music Video of the Year for Ilusyon. Although there was a very strong audience reaction in NPAT when Enchong Dee was doing his dance moves to Yeng Constantino’s music video Chinito that was also nominated in the same category.

The other big winner of the night was Regine Velasquez. Her song Nathaniel earned Best Inspirational/Religious Recording while Hele Ni Inay got Best Musical Arrangement (arranged by Homer Flores). Her album Hulog Ka Ng Langit was also named Best Album Package. Side A was given the Dangal ng Musikang Pilipino Award (Lifetime Achievement).

The night had performances from Mark Mabasa and Friends, Pilita Corrales, KZ Tandingan, DJ Alvaro, Morisette Amon, Michael Pangilinan, Eurika, Bayang Barrios, Marion Aunor, Gino Padilla, Lloyd Umali, Manila Sound Project, Nina, The Voice Kids, Lira Bermudez and Gloc-9.

Below is the list of other winners: 

Best Selling Album of the Year —Daniel Padilla

Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist — Pasakalye by Zia Quizon 

Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist — Lucky In Love (Paolo Onesa)

Best Performance by a Group—Parokya Ni Edgar

Dangal Ng Musikang Pilipino Award —Side A

EGG’s Most Downloaded Song of 2013 — Don’t Say Goodbye (Nina)

EGG’s Most Downloaded Artist of 2013 — Nina

My Music Store Most Downloaded Song of 2013 — Two Steps Behind (Six Part Invention)

I-Gateway Mobile Phil Most Downloaded Song of 2013 — Chinito (Yeng Constantino)

I-Gateway Mobile Phil Most Downloaded Artist of 2013 — Yeng Constantino

Best Rock Alternative Recording — To Survive (Franco)

Best Ballad Recording — Scared to Death (KZ Tandingan) 

Best R&B Recording — Ikot ikot (Sarah Geronimo)

Best Performance by New Female Artist — If You Ever Change Your Mind (Marian Aunor)

Best Performance by New Group — Waka waka (Koro Ilustrado)

Best Performance by New Male Artist

Lucky In Love (Paolo Onesa)

Best Jazz Recording —Darating Din (KZ Tandingan)  

Music Video of the Year — Ilusyon (Abra feat. Arci Muñoz, Director Raymond Abracosa)

Best Song Written for TV/Movie/Stage — Bakit Di Ka Crush (Zia Quizon) 

Best Dance Recording — No Limitations (Sam Concepcion)

Best Regional Recording —Abe Pakalale (Andy Alvis) and Taldawa (Edward)

Best Novelty Recording — Papel (Joey Ayala feat. Gloc-9

Best Engineered Recording — Never Will I Forget (Urbandub, Engineers: Eric Perlas and Macoy Manuel)

Best World Music — Pansamantagal (Sitti and Julianne Tarroja)

Best Vocal Arrangement — Darating Din (Kz Tandingan, arranger Yosha Honasan)

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with