A night of nostalgia at NU Rock awards
A night of nostalgia at NU Rock awards
Leah C. Salterio (The Philippine Star) - November 5, 2010 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - Yes, it was the last Rock Awards, validating the widely talked about rumor that floated a few weeks prior to the much-awaited annual music event that salutes the best in OPM rock.

NU 107, the iconic rock radio station for more than two decades now, staged its 17th and final Rock Awards last Oct. 29 at the NBC Tent. However, contrary to the buzz that NU is closing down early next year, station manager Cris Hermosisima clarified they will merely take a redirection, with the entry of new investors.

There was a mix of nostalgia and excitement that night as the Rock Awards ended with a bang. Rivermaya’s Mark Escueta, past winner of Drummer of the Year award, acknowledged the support of NU 107 to alternative bands, as the station propelled them to collective consciousness and propagated OPM.

“Ang laking tulong ng NU sa buhay ng bawat musikero,” Mark remarked.

NU 107 president Atom Henares thanked the artists, recording studios, album producers, press and fans who supported the Rock Awards for the past 17 years. At the finale, the station jocks took a bow.

Iza Calzado and Atom Henares

Music veterans and upstarts took centerstage in the music shebang. NU 107 gave recognition to the artists who are undeniably at the top of their game, have gained OPM supremacy the past year and made immeasurable impact to fans.

Pinoy rock legend Jose “Pepe” Smith presented the Red Horse beer-sponsored In the Raw award to Flying Ipis.

Prior to the ceremony, Quark Henares and Mitch Dulce led their Us Two Evil Zero band in carrying out a highly charged number for the full-house crowd.

The presence of high-caliber and popular bands that performed onstage added prestige to the event — from the Jett Pangan-led The Dawn who opened the show to the Ely Buendia-bannered Pupil. Rivermaya rocked the stage with its Awit ng Kabataan number.

In between the awards that were handed out, other bands dished out high-powered and eclectic performances. Among them were Kamikazee, Urbandub, Sugarfree, Greyhoundz, Wilabaliw, The Youth, Slapshock, Itchyworms, Archipelago, Up Dharma Down and Franco that bagged the major awards that night.

The event also saw a star-studded line-up of personalities. Iza Calzado graciously hosted the four-hour ceremony with Tado and Erning.

From left: Heart Evangelista, Daniel Matsunaga, Vanessa Matsunaga and Quark Henares

Heart Evangelista came draped in the arms of her Brazilian boyfriend Daniel Matsunaga. The latter’s sister, Vanessa, who is also inching her way into local showbiz, also went onstage to present the Best New Artist award with Hayden Kho Jr.

Ketchup Eusebio, Kitkat, Tuesday Vargas provided the laughs with their hilarious spiels. Even noted cosmetic surgeon Dr. Vicki Belo and daughter Cristalle Belo Henares presented different awards.

Franco, who got the most number of nominations, turned out to be the biggest surprise of the night as the band romped off with the major accolades — Listener’s Choice Awards, Song of the Year, Album of the Year and Artist of the Year.

For the Artist of the Year award, KC Concepcion and Anne Curtis were joined onstage by Atom Henares and Ely Buendia.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Artist of the Year — Franco

Album of the Year — Franco by Franco

Song of the Year — This Gathering by Franco

Vocalist of the Year — Gabby Alipe of Urbandub

Guitarist of the Year — Peavy “Sideshow” Nicolas and Fran Lorenzo of Sleepwalk Circus

Bassist of the Year — Lalay Lim of Urbandub

Drummer of the Year — Otep Concepcion  (Ozawa/In Love and War)

Best New Artist — Tanya Markova

Best Music Video — Disney by Tanya Markova

Best Album Packaging — Great Secret Show by Sleepwalk Circus

Producer of the Year — Ely Buendia and Francis M

Listener’s Choice Award — Franco

Hall of Fame — Angelo “Angee” Rozul

Best Live Act — Tanya Markova

In the Raw Award —The Flying Ipis

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with