In this file photo, red ribbons are tied to the gate at the Supreme Court as a show of opposition against former Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno.
The STAR/Miguel de Guzman
10 make it to JBC shortlist for post to be vacated by Tijam
( - December 7, 2018 - 6:43pm

MANILA, Philippines — Ten nominees—seven of them justices of the Court of Appeals—are shortlisted for the post to be vacated by Supreme Court Associate Justice Noel Tijam.

The Judicial and Bar Council on Friday released a shortlist for the next magistrate in the high court.

Court of Appeals justices Manuel Barrios, Japar Dimaampao and Amy Lazar-Javier got six points each.

Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Amparo Cabotaje-Tang, and appellate justices Ramon Cruz, Ramon Garcia and Mario Lopez each received five points.

Those who obtained four points were Court of Appeals Associate Justice Apolinario Bruselas Jr., Supreme Court Court Administrator Midas Marquez and former Ateneo Law School Dean Cesar Villanueva.

The shortlist did not include Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Efren de la Cruz, who dissented to the acquittal of former Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. of plunder. In his dissent, de la Cruz said Revilla only met evidence against him “with nothing more than either denial or silence.”

The names will be submitted to President Rodrigo Duterte, who will select the replacement of Tijam. He will retire from the Supreme Court on January next year. — Gaea Katreena Cabico

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with