Perpetual holds first-ever media awards

The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines - The University of Perpetual Help System DALTA, in celebration of its 40th Founding Anniversary, will recognize outstanding individuals, programs and other entities in the field of mass media during its first-ever ALTA Media Icon Awards, a Student’s Choice award-giving body, to be held tomorrow, Dec. 11, 2 p.m. at the Ernesto Palanca Crisostomo Hall, Perpetual Las Piñas Campus.

In a ‘70s-inspired awards night, with the theme The Perpetualite Rock: 40 Years of Rocking the Nation through Quality Education and Media Partnership, awards will be given to the winners in different media categories such as TV, radio, print, film, advertising and public relations, social media and recording. Special recognition will be awarded to Media Icons, namely: Tina Monzon–Palma, Iconic Media Personality for Broadcast Journalism; Gloria Romero, Eddie Garcia, Vilma Santos, Tirso Cruz III and Ricky Lee as Iconic Media Personalities for Film and Television.

Chairman of the board and CEO Dr. Bgen Antonio Tamayo said that the ALTA Media Icon Awards aims to honor outstanding media programs, personalities and entities that have contributed to the country’s social development and promoted Filipino values aligned with the university’s philosophy of “character-building is nation-building.”

The winners were chosen by college students of University of Perpetual Help-Las Piñas, the largest of all Perpetual DALTA campuses with 10,000 students. A separate screening committee comprised of administrators and educators judged the nominees for the Media Icon awards. The winners will be awarded by co-founder and board of director Dr. Daisy Tamayo; UPHSD president Anthony Tamayo; and board secretary and UPHDMC president Maj. Richard Tamayo.

Here’s the complete list of winners of the first ALTA Media Icon Awards:


Best Magazine Show: I Juander (GMA News TV)

Best Talk Show: Tapatan ni Tunying (ABS CBN)

Best Noontime Variety Show: Eat Bulaga (GMA 7)

Best Musical Variety Show: ASAP (ABS-CBN)

Best Documentary Program: I-Witness (GMA 7)

Best Drama Series: Forevermore (ABS-CBN)

Best Drama Anthology: Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)

Best Comedy Program: Home Sweetie Home (ABS-CBN)

Best News Program:           State of the Nation (GMA News TV)

Best Lifestyle Program: Ang Pinaka (GMA News TV)

Best Educational Program: Matanglawin (ABS-CBN)

Best Reality/Talent Show: The Voice PH (ABS-CBN)

Best Public Service Program: Wish Ko Lang (GMA 7)

Best Game Show: Kapamilya Deal or No Deal (ABS-CBN)

Best Morning Show: Umagang kay Ganda (ABS-CBN)

Best Travel Show: Biyahe ni Drew (GMA News TV)

Best Youth-Oriented Show: Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN)

Best Talk Show Host: Boy Abunda (The Bottomline/ABS-CBN)

Best Male News Personality for TV: Atom Araullo (TV Patrol/ABS-CBN)

Best Female News Personality for TV: Jessica Soho (State of the Nation/GMA News TV)

Best Actor for TV (Drama Role): Coco Martin (Ikaw Lamang/ABS-CBN)

Best Actress for TV (Drama Role): Kim Chiu (Ikaw Lamang/ABS-CBN)

Best Actor for TV (Comedy Role): John Lloyd Cruz (Home Sweetie Home/ABS-CBN)

Best Actress for TV (Comedy Role): Toni Gonzaga (Home Sweetie Home/ABS-CBN)

Best Child Actor (TV): Zaijian Jaranilla (Hawak Kamay/ABS-CBN)

Best Child Actress (TV): Jana Agoncillo (Dream Dad/ABS-CBN)

Most Promising Male Star: Enrique Gil

Most Promising Female Star: Janella Salvador

Best Love Team: LizQuen (Liza Soberano and Enrique Gil)

Most Influential Male TV Personality: Daniel Padilla

Most Influential Female TV Personality: Sarah Geronimo

Best Public Service Program Host: Ted Failon (Failon Ngayon/ABS-CBN)

Best Documentary Program Host: Kara David (I-Witness/GMA 7)

Best Educational Show Host: Kim Atienza (Matanglawin/ABS-CBN)

Best Magazine Show Host: Jessica Soho (Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho/GMA 7)

Best Morning Show Host: Atom Araullo (Umagang Kay Ganda/ABS-CBN)

Best Lifestyle Show Host: Rovilson Fernandez (Ang Pinaka/GMA News TV)

Best Reality Show Host: Toni Gonzaga (Pinoy Big Brother/ABS-CBN)

Best Travel Show Host: Drew Arellano (Byahe ni Drew/GMA News TV)

Best Game Show Host: Luis Manzano (Kapamilya Deal or No Deal/ABS-CBN)


Best Radio Station (AM): DZMM 630

Best Radio Station (FM): 90.7 Love Radio

Best Male Personality for Radio (AM): Anthony Taberna (Dos Por Dos/DZMM 630)

Best Female Radio Personality (AM): Karen Davila (Pasada Sais Trenta/DZMM 630)

Best Male Radio Personality (FM): Chris Tsuper (Tambalan /90.7 Love Radio)

Best Female Radio Personality (FM): Nicole Hyala (Tambalan/90.7 Love Radio)

Best Radio Public Service Program: Failon Ngayon (DZMM Radyo Patrol 630)

Best Radio Music Program: Tambalan (90.7 Love Radio)


Best Film: The Trial (Star Cinema)

Best Child Performer: Miggs Cuaderno (Asintado)

Best Actor for Film: Coco Martin (Feng Shui 2)

Best Actress for Film: Kathryn Bernardo (She’s Dating the Gangster)


Best Tabloid: Pilipino Star Ngayon 

Best Magazine: Candy Magazine

Recording Industry

Best Female Recording Artist: Janella Salvador

Best Male Recording Artist: Bamboo

Best Music Video: Ikaw by Yeng Constantino

Song of the Year: Sabado by Eraserheads












  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with