John Lloyd, Sarah named Box-office King & Queen
STAR BYTES - Butch Francisco () - May 29, 2010 - 12:00am

John Lloyd Cruz and Sarah Geronimo are again this year’s Box-Office King and Queen and they are being awarded for the huge success at the tills of their 2009 romantic comedy You Changed My Life (from Viva Films and Star Cinema). Last year, they also won the same titles for A Very Special Love, 2008’s monster hit.

The Box-Office King and Queen honors are given annually by the Box-Office Entertainment Awards of the Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation, Inc. to movie stars whose films earned the most money for the past year. This award-giving body was named after the late Bocaue mayor Guillermo Mendoza and the foundation helps send poor, but deserving students to school. Mrs. Corazon Samaniego, Mendoza’s daughter, is the current head of the organization and it is her mission to realize her father’s dream of giving indigent students in the province of Bulacan proper education.

Aside from films, the Box-Office Entertainment Awards group also honors popular achievements on television and in the music scene.

For this year, it is actually a double victory for John Lloyd because he also gets to bring home the Film Actor of the Year trophy for You Changed My Life and In My Life, both of which were certified box-office hits. (This award is given to movie stars after weighing quality of performance and the film’s take at the tills.) His co-star in the film In My Life, Vilma Santos, was selected Film Actress of the Year. Vilma was also voted Best Actress by other award-giving bodies for the same movie.

Below are the other winners in this year’s Box-Office Entertainment Awards:

Prince of Philippine Movies and TV — Gerald Anderson

Princess of Philippine Movies and TV — Kim Chiu

Promising Male Box-Office Star — Coco Martin

Promising Female Box-Office Star — Angelica Panganiban

Male Concert Performer of the Year — Martin Nievera

Female Concert Performer of the Year — Pops Fernandez

Male Recording Artist of the Year — Gary Valenciano

Female Recording Artist of the Year — Nina

Group Recording/Performer of the Year — Bamboo

Promising Male Recording/Performer of the Year — Jericho Rosales

Promising Female Recording/Performer of the Year — Frencheska Farr

Promising Group Recording/Performing Artist of the Year — Pop Girls

Novelty Singer — Willie Revillame

Love Team of the Year — Dingdong Dantes/Marian Rivera

Promising Love Team of the Year — Enchong Dee/Erich Gonzales

Dance Group of the Year — ASAP Supahdance

Child Performer of the Year — Zaijan “Santino” Jaranilla

Film Producer of the Year — Star Cinema

Screenwriters of the Year — Raymond Lee/Senedy Que/Olivia Lamasan

Film Director of the Year — Cathy Garcia Molina

TV Program of the Year — May Bukas Pa

TV Director of the Year — Jojo Saguin (May Bukas Pa)

The Box-Office Entertainment Awards is also giving special citations to the following showbiz personalities:

Bert Marcelo Award — Pokwang

Comedy Box-Office King — Vic Sotto

Comedy Box-Office Queen — Ai-Ai de las Alas

And in recognition of their accomplishments abroad last year, the Box-Office Entertainment Awards will also honor Brillante Mendoza for winning Best Director at the Cannes and Hong Kong Asian Film Festivals and Gina Pareño for getting the following awards for Serbis: Best Supporting Actress at the 3rd Asian Hong Kong Film Awards and Best Actress at the Pacific Meridian International Film Festival for Asia-Pacific countries.

The Eraserheads Reunion Concert at the Mall of Asia that saw an attendance of 120,000 people is also being cited as the Record Breaker of the Year.

The 2010 Box-Office Entertainment Awards is being produced by Tessie Celestino-Howard of Airtime Marketing, Inc. and will be telecast on June 27 on ABS-CBN’s Sunday’s Best.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with