ABS-CBN sweeps 17th PMPC Star Awards for TV
() - October 14, 2003 - 12:00am
ABS-CBN 2 made a clean sweep of the 17th Star Awards for TV of the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) held Saturday night at the UP Theater, bagging two-thirds of the awards at stake (32 out of 47) including that for Best Station.

Rival station GMA 7 took home the rest of the trophies (15).

It was a triumphant comeback for ABS-CBN, which participated in the competition only this year, after boycotting the awards for several years.

Despite a few lapses, the PMPC presented a good show even if it was too long; it wouldn’t have won the Best Editing award. The event was spearheaded by PMPC president Julie Bonifacio.

Shown on this spread are the various faces of victory.
The Honor Roll
• Best TV Station – ABS-CBN 2

•Best Children Show – Art is Kool (GMA 7)

•Best Children Show Host – Robert Alejandro (Art is Kool, GMA 7)

•Best Educational Program – Knowledge Power (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Educational Program Host – Ernie Baron (Knowledge Power, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Lifestyle Show – F (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Lifestyle Show Host (s) – Angel Aquino, Cher Calvin and Daphne Oseña (F, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best News Program – TV Patrol (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Female Newscaster – Korina Sanchez (TV Patrol, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Male Newscaster – Julius Babao (TV Patrol, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Travel Show – Cheche Lazaro Presents (GMA 7)

•Best Travel Show Host – Cheche Lazaro (Cheche Lazaro Presents, GMA 7)

•Best Magazine Show – The Correspondents (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Magazine Show Host – Karen Davila and Company (Correspondents)

•Best Morning Show – Magandang Umaga Bayan (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Morning Show Host(s) – Tintin Bersola, Mon Ilagan, Cheri Mercado, Bobby Yan and Claudine Trillo (MUB)

•Best Public Service Program – Wish Ko Lang (GMA 7)

•Best Public Service Program Host – Willie Revillame (Willingly Yours, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Public Affairs Program – Debate with Mare at Pare (GMA 7)

•Best Public Affairs Program Host(s) – Winnie Monsod and Oscar Orbos (Debate, GMA 7)

•Best Celebrity Talk Show – Morning Girls with Kris & Korina (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Celebrity Talk Show Host(s) – Kris Aquino and Korina Sanchez (Morning Girls, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Showbiz-Oriented Show – The Buzz (ABS-CBN)

•Best Female Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host – Cristy Fermin (S2, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Male Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host – Boy Abunda (The Buzz)

•Best Youth-Oriented Show – Click (GMA 7)

•Best Game Show – Game KNB? (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Game Show Host – Kris Aquino (Game KNB?, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best New Female TV Personality – Valerie Concepcion (Click)

•Best New Male TV Personality – Luis Philippe "Lucky" Manzano (ASAP Mania, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Gag Show – Bubble Gang (GMA 7)

•Best Comedy Show – OK, Fine, Whatever (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Comedy Actress – Ai Ai de las Alas (Whattamen, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Comedy Actor – Vic Sotto (Daddy Di Do Du, GMA 7)

•Best Horror/Fantasy Show – Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Drama Series – Kay Tagal Kang Hinintay (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Drama Anthology – Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Drama Actress – Snooky Serna (Habang Kapiling Ka, GMA 7)

•Best Drama Actor – John Estrada (Kay Tagal Kang Hinintay, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Variety Show – Eat, Bulaga! (GMA 7)

•Best Musical Variety Show – ASAP Mania (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Musical Special – Isang Pamilya, Isang Puso Ngayong Pasko (ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Female TV Host – Claudine Barretto (ASAP Mania, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Male TV Host – Vic Sotto (Eat, Bulaga!, GMA 7)

•Best Single Performance by an Actress – Sunshine Dizon (MKM: Kakaibang Mukha ng Pagibig, GMA 7) and Cherry Pie Picache (Tanging Yaman, The Series: Sa Kandungan Mo Inay, ABS-CBN 2)

•Best Single Performance by an Actor – Carlo Aquino (Tanging Yaman, The Series: Sa Kandungan Mo Inay, ABS-CBN 2)

•Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Awardee – Luz Valdez

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with