The Dove Awards: And the winners are. . .

STAR BYTES - Butch Francisco -
In 1990, I was contacted by the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster sa Pilipinas (KBP) to attend a very important meeting. It turned out that this organization was putting up an awards body that was going to honor outstanding achievements in the field of television. It was going to be called the Golden Dove Awards and I was among its first set of judges.

The task of choosing the winners that time wasn’t very difficult because there were very few categories. What was difficult for me then was traveling the distance from my house in Quezon City to the KBP office in Makati.

The following year, I was again made to sit in the panel of judges and the trip to Makati became more difficult because that was the time that the Ortigas flyover was being constructed and EDSA had to be closed to traffic.

The other judges that year were Justice Cecilia Muñoz Palma, Zeneida Amador, Rico Diyco, Dr. Florangel Braid and Grace Javier Alfonso. The judging was made more difficult that time with the inclusion of the categories for radio. But even with the awards for radio, it was still a relatively easy task for us because there couldn’t have been more than 20 categories that time.

When I attended the rites for the 11th Golden Dove Awards last Thursday (telecast is on Dec. 22 on Channel 13), however, I was surprised that this awards body that used to be so small now has 67 categories.

Below are some of the winners:

KBP Lifetime Achievement Award
– Engineer Emmanuel A. Galang

"Ka Doroy" Broadcaster of the Year
– Luchi Cruz Valdes

Best TV Station (Metro Manila)
– ABS-CBN Channel 2

Best TV Station (Provincial)
– ABS-CBN TV 3 Cebu

Best AM Radio Station (Metro Manila)
– Himpilan ng Malayang Mamamayan, DZMM/ABS-CBN

Best AM Radio Station (Provincial)
– Radyo Balisong, DZBR/Kumintang Broadcasting System

Best FM Radio Station (Metro Manila)
– Monster Radio RX 93.1/Audiovisual Communicators, Inc.

Best FM Radio Station (Provincial)
– Campus Radio Kalibo, DYRU/RGMA Network

Best News Program (TV/Metro Manila)
Saksi, GMA-7

Best News Program (TV/Provincial)
Good Morning Philippines, ABS-CBN

Best News Program (Radio/Metro Manila)
DZMM Balita Alas Siete, DZMM/ABS-CBN

Best News Program (Radio/Provincial)
Balita Numero Uno, Aksyon Radyo DYVL

Best Public Affairs Program (TV/Metro Manila)
I-Witness, GMA-7

Best Public Affairs Program (TV/Provincial)
Good Morning Bicolandia, TV 5 Naga/PBN Broadcasting Network

Best Public Affairs Program (Radio/Metro Manila)

Best Public Affairs Program (Radio/Provincial)
Kilos Kabayan (Sigaw ng Paghatol), DZBR/Kumintang Broadcasting System

Best Talk Show (TV/Metro Manila)
Off the Record/ABS-CBN

Best Talk Show (TV/Provincial)
Alas Diyes Na, TV 3 Cebu/ABS-CBN

Best Talk Show (Radio/Metro Manila)
Korina sa Umaga, DZMM/ABS-CBN

Best Talk Show (Radio/Provincial)
Isyu 1296, DXAB Davao/ABS-CBN

Best Musical Variety Program (TV/Metro Manila)

Best Musical Variety Program (TV/Provincial)
Bongga Goes to Saggay City, TV 6 Iloilo/GMA Network, Inc. and Sabado na Gyud, Ngiya Gyud, TV 3 Cebu/ABS-CBN

Best Musical Variety Program (Radio/Metro Manila)
RX Concert Series, Monster Radio RX 93.1

Best Musical Variety Program (Radio/Provincial)
Textback with Chop, DWOK/PBN Broadcasting Network

Best Comedy Program (TV/Metro Manila)
Bubble Gang, GMA-7

Best Comedy Program (Radio/Metro Manila)
Countdown Top Seven, Monster Radio RX 93.1

Best Comedy Program (Radio/Provincial)
Campus Joke Box, DWWQ Campus Radio Tuguegarao/GMA Network

Best Drama Program (TV/Metro Manila)
Maalaala Mo Kaya, ABS-CBN

Best Drama Program (Radio/Metro Manila)
The Love Clinic, Monster Radio RX 93.1

Best Drama Program (Radio/Provincial)
Sa Aming Nayon, DZBR/Kumintang Broadcasting System

Best TV Special (Metro Manila)
A Christmas Prayer, ABS-CBN and Biyaheng Pasig-Payatas, GMA-7

Best TV Special (Provincial)
Panabenga 2001, TV 3 Baguio/ABS-CBN

Best Radio Special (Metro Manila)
May 1: Ang Paglusob sa Malacañang, DZBB/GMA Network

Best Radio Special (Provincial)
Usapang Pangkababaihan, DXBR/Radyo Balisong Batangas

Best Program Promoting Culture and the Arts (TV/Metro Manila)
Cheche Lazaro Presents, GMA-7

Best Program Promoting Culture and the Arts (TV/Provincial)
Himaya-an Festival 2001, ABS-CBN Bacolod

Best Program Promoting Culture and the Arts (Radio/Metro Manila)
Galing ng Pinoy, DZAR Angel Radyo/Nation Broadcasting Corp.

Best Program Promoting Culture and the Arts (Radio/Provincial)
Pilipinas ng Silangan, DZBR/Kumintang Broadcasting System

Best Magazine Show (TV/Metro Manila)
Pipol, ABS-CBN

Best Magazine Show (TV/Provincial)
Gimik Pinoy: The Mt. Pinatubo Specials, ABS-CBN Baguio

Best Magazine Show (Radio/Metro Manila)
Siyasat, DWIZ/Aliw Broadcasting Corp.

Best Magazine Show (Radio/Provincial)
Sex and Everything, DXRR Davao 101.1/ABS-CBN

Best TV Newscaster (Metro Manila)
– Mel Tiangco, Front-page/GMA-7

Best TV Newscaster (Provincial)
– Aljo Bendijo, TV 4 Davao/ABS-CBN

Best Talk Show Host (TV/Metro Manila)
– Sharon Cuneta, Sharon, ABS-CBN

Best Talk Show Host (TV/Provincial)
– Charie Ginete Ilon, Ilongga Ka Day, TV 4 Bacolod/ABS-CBN

Best Talk Show Host (Radio/Metro Manila)
– Manang Rose Clores, Super Kalusugan, DZBB/GMA Network

Best Public Affairs Host (TV/Metro Manila)
– Vicky Morales, I-Witness, GMA-7

Best Public Affairs Host (TV/Provincial)
– Art Bonjoc, Jr., Opinyon Patrol, ABS-CBN Iligan

Best Public Affairs Host (Radio/Metro Manila)
– Angelo Palmones, Kabayan, Bago Yan Ah, DZMM/ABS-CBN

Best Public Affairs Host (Radio/Provincial)
– Edgar Damalerio, DXKP Radio Phil. Network Iligan

Best Musical Variety Show Host (TV/Metro Manila)
– Celeste Legaspi, Musika Atbp., IBC-13.

Best Musical Variety Show Host (Radio/Metro Manila)
– German Moreno, DZBB/GMA Network

Best Musical Variety Show Host (Radio/Provincial)
– Julius Manahan, Textback With Chop, DWOK FM/PNB Broadcasting Network

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with