Entertainment Skinning Left, pagematch: , sectionmatch: 1
Entertainment ( Leaderboard Top ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1

The 16th Stars Awards for TV: Look ma, no protests!

No one raised a howl when the curtains fell on the 16th Star Awards for Television last Saturday at the jampacked UP Theater. GMA 7 dominated the race by winning 27 trophies, including the top award for Best Station. ABS-CBN 2, on the other hand, clinched 20 wins. These included the tie between Mel Tiangco of GMA 7’s Frontpage and Korina Sanchez of ABS-CBN’s TV Patrol for Best Female Newscaster and that of Ogie Alcasid and Michael V as Best Comedy Actor for Bubble Gang (GMA-7).

Save for the snubbing incident between Mel and Korina, the awards rites was unmarred by protest or controversy. ‘Twas indeed, a night of popular choices.

The Honor Roll

• Best TV Station – GMA-7

• Best Children’s Show – Five and Up (GMA)

• Best Children’s Show Host – Five and Up Kids (GMA)

• Best Educational Program – Knowledge Power (ABS-CBN)

• Best Educational Program Host – Ernie Baron, Knowledge Power (ABS-CBN)

• Best Lifestyle Show – F (ABS-CBN)

• Best Lifestyle Show Host – Angel Aquino, Cher Calvin and Daphne Oseña of F (ABS-CBN)

• Best News Program – Frontpage Ulat ni Mel Tiangco (GMA)

• Best Female Newscaster – Korina Sanchez, TV Patrol (ABS-CBN) and Mel Tiangco, Frontpage (GMA)

• Best Male Newscaster – Henry Omaga-Diaz, TV Patrol (ABS-CBN)

• Best Travel Show – Che Che Lazaro, Che Che Lazaro Presents (GMA)

• Best Magazine Show – Jessica Soho Reports (GMA)

• Best Magazine Show Host – Jessica Soho, Jessica Soho Reports (GMA)

• Best Morning Show – Unang Hirit (GMA)

• Best Morning Show Host – Arnold Clavio, Lyn Ching, Rhea Santos and company, Unang Hirit (GMA)

• Best Public Service Program – Mission X (ABS-CBN)

• Best Public Service Program Host – Erwin Tulfo, Mission X (ABS-CBN)

• Best Public Affairs Program – Debate with Mare at Pare (GMA)

• Best Public Affairs Program Host – Winnie Monsod and Oscar Orbos, Debate (GMA)

• Best Celebrity Talk Show – Private Conversations with Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)

• Best Celebrity Talk show Host – Boy Abunda (ABS-CBN)

• Best Showbiz-Oriented Show – Startalk (GMA)

• Best Female Showbiz-Oriented Show Host – Kris Aquino, The Buzz (ABS-CBN)

• Best Male Showbiz-Oriented Show Host – Boy Abunda, The Buzz (ABS-CBN)

• Best Youth-Oriented Show – Click (GMA)

• Best Game Show – Game KNB (ABS-CBN)

• Best Game Show Host – Kris Aquino, Game KNB (ABS-CBN)

• Best New Female TV Personality – Nancy Castileogne, Sana Ay Ikaw Na Nga (GMA)

• Best New Male TV Personality – Paolo Ballesteros Eat Bulaga (GMA)

• Best Gag Show – Bubble Gang (GMA)

• Best Comedy Show – Kool Ka Lang (GMA)

• Best Comedy Actress – Ai Ai delas Alas, Whattamen (ABS-CBN)

• Best Comedy Actor – Ogie Alcasid and Michael V, Bubble Gang (GMA)

• Best Horror/Fantasy Show – Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN)

• Best Drama Series – Kung Mawawala Ka (GMA)

• Best Drama Mini-Series – Pira-Pirasong Pangarap (GMA)

• Best Drama Actress – Jean Garcia, Pangako Sa ’Yo (ABS-CBN)

• Best Drama Actor – Eddie Garcia, Kung Mawawala Ka (GMA)

• Best Variety Show – Eat Bulaga (GMA)

• Best Musical Variety Show – SOP (GMA)

• Best Female TV Show Host – Pops Fernandez, ASAP (ABS-CBN)

• Best Male TV Show Host – Vic Sotto, Eat Bulaga (GMA)

• Best Single Performance by an Actress – Regine Velasquez, Maalaala Mo Kaya, "Lobo" (ABS-CBN)

• Best Single Performance by an Actor – Paolo Contis, Maalaala Mo Kaya, "Chicken Feet" (ABS-CBN)

Special Awards

Long-Running TV Shows: Ating Alamin; Batibot; Beauty School Plus; Chikiting Patrol; Damayan; Eat Bulaga; Home Along Da Riles; Kapwa Ko; Mahal Ko; Maalaala Mo Kaya?; Magandang Gabi Bayan; Mel and Jay; Newswatch; The Big News; The Probe Team; Travel Time and TV Patrol.

• Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award – Inday Badiday

• Male Star of the Night – Piolo Pascual

• Female Star of the Night – Gretchen Barretto

Entertainment ( Article MRec ), pagematch: 1, sectionmatch: 1
  • Follow Us:
Entertainment Skinning Right, pagematch: , sectionmatch: 1