The Old Congressional Districts of Leyte (Part 8)
CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal (The Freeman) - June 7, 2019 - 12:00am

In the 1700s Leyte and Samar were part of the Diocese of Cebu. The proximity of the island of Cebu to Leyte resulted in migration and inter-marriages between the two places. Majority of Cebuanos and Leyteños are interrelated by affinity or blood, the result of this is that their politics and religious practices share common roots.

Old 2nd District of Leyte

In 1931 there was a re-composition of the district with the following: Anahawan, Hinunangan, Hinundayan, Libagon, Liloan, Macrohon, Malitbog, Pintuyan, San Juan (Cabalian), Sogod, Bontoc, Silago, Saint Bernard, and Padre Burgos.

The town of Silago was by created by virtue of Republic Act 5962 enacted on June 21, 1969 composed of the barrios of Silago, Hingatonga, Laguna, Kikilo, Bulac, Sap-ong, Awayon, Balawagon, and the sitios of Combis, Sanirque, Talaque, Malen, and Madadyong of the Municipality of Hinunangan.

The town of Bontoc was enacted by virtue of Republic Act 522 enacted on June 15, 1950 composed of the barrios of Bontoc, Divisoria, Onion, Pacu, Beniton, Catmon, Hilaan, Taa, Sta. Cruz, and Mahayahay of the Municipality of Sogod.

The Representatives of the District from 1931 to 1961 were the following: Tomas Oppus (1931-1946), Francisco M. Pajao (1946-1957), and Nicanor Espina Yñiguez (1957-1961).

In 1961 there was another redistricting, this time the old 3rd District was composed of the following: Almeria, Biliran, Cabucgayan, Calubian, Culaba, Isabel, Kawayan, Leyte, Maripipi, Matag-ob, Merida, Naval, Palompon, San Isidro, Tabango, and Villaba.

From 1961 to 1972 the district was dominated by the veteran congressional leader, who served for years as party leader and majority floor leader, Marcelino “Lining” Veloso.

Biliran became a sub-province of Leyte by virtue of Republic Act 2141 on April 8, 1959. On June 17, 1972 Republic Act 6488 created the Municipality of Almeria. Under the Local Government Code of 1991, Biliran became an independent province, with the following towns: Almeria, Biliran, Cabucgayan, Caibiran, Culaba, Kawayan, Maripipi, and Naval. (To be continued)

P.S.: “Scoutmaster Sergio Damazo Jr. bridge-naming proposed ordinance.” Calling all Josenian scouts, USJ-R administrators and community, please kindly attend its public hearing this June 11, 2019 (Tuesday), 1 p.m., Session Hall, Cebu City, and support its passage. Adelante!

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with