Talisay’s Kendrick Abarquez wins MVP award in Governor’s Cup caging
Emmanuel B. Villaruel (The Freeman) - May 17, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — Kendrick Rieken Abarquez, the star center of back-to-back champions Talisay City Aquastars, was named as the Finals Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the 2019 Cebu Governor’s Cup Inter-Cities and Municipalities Under 21 Developmental Basketball Tournament.

The organizing Cebu Provincial Sports Commission came up with the decision after a thorough deliberation by the technical committee composed of league commissioners Danny Duran, Boy Murillo, Isidro Aguelo Jr., Reynaldo Cañete, Julian Macoy and Van Halen Parmis.

Abarquez, who plays for the University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R) Jaguars in the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation, Inc. (CESAFI), is a key factor in Talisay’s winning a second straight title in annual tilt for young aspiring cagers all over the province.

Aside from being a reliable scorer, the 6-foot-3 slotman from Barangay Tanke is also a tenacious patrolman at the shaded lane for Talisay all season long.

He scored nine points laced with 10 rebounds, three steals, two assists and two blocks against only one turnover as Talisay of coach Rey Michael Gurrea edged Mandaue, 74-69, in the deciding match of their best-of-three finals series to successfully defend their throne last May 11 at the University of San Carlos (USC)-Main gym.

“I feel amazed and overwhelmed because I wasn’t expecting to receive this big award. I was just doing my thing and my role inside the court,” said Abarquez. “I just did my best for my team and for the Talisaynons who supported me throughout the season. I am thankful for having a supportive family, friends, teammates and coaches, and especially to the man above.”

Abarquez, who will receive P10,000 for his feat, is joined by his teammates Keaton Clyde Taburnal and Clark Louis Ruedas in the Mythical Five together with Gabriel Cometa of the Mandaue City Ballers and Albert Sacayan of the Balamban Shipbuilders.   

When they bagged last year’s crown with a perfect 14-0 record, Abarquez also made it to the Mythical Five but it was his comrade Elmer Echavez who claimed the MVP trophy. Coincidentally, Abarquez and Echavez are teammates at USJ-R.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with