Golden Screen Awards reveals its nominees

- Ricky L. Calderon (The Freeman) - September 19, 2014 - 12:00am

The Entertainment Press Society (Enpress, Inc) has announced the finalists to the 11th Golden Screen Awards to be held on October 4, Saturday, at Teatrino at the Promenade in Greenhills, San Juan City.

From close to a hundred films shown last year, Golden Screen Awards came up with a short list of 40 films which was reviewed by the voting members for almost two months.

In a resolution presented by Awards Chairman Lito Mañago, it was agreed upon by the voting members to limit the number of nominees to five per category or even less based on the rating garnered by the film, actor or technical staff.

Hannah Espia’s debut film “Transit” which competed at Cinemalaya last year, got 12 nominations including Best Motion Picture-Drama and Best Direction for the newbie film director.

This was followed by the drama of a nanny in her twilight years in “Ano ang Kulay ng mga Nakalimutang Pangarap” starring Rustica Carpio and directed by Jose Javier Reyes with 11 nominations.

Also getting 11 nominations is the gripping action flick “OTJ (On the Job)” which was shown in Cannes and was directed by Erik Matti. It garnered nods for Best Picture and Best Direction.

“Sonata,” the comeback film of Peque Gallaga and Lore Reyes as a tandem, garnered 10 nominations, including Best Actress for Cherie Gil for her role as a diva coping with the loss of her voice and who found solace in the company of a young boy.

“Ekstra,” the first Cinemalaya film entry of Star For All Seasons and Batangas Governor Vilma Santos is nominated in 7 categories, including Best Actress for Vilma and Best Direction for Jeffrey Jeturian.

Enpress and the Golden Screen Awards would like to thank Papa Ahwel Paz for allowing the use of Dong Juan (located at 72 Mother Ignacia St, Quezon City) as the venue for the nominations and final voting of winners held last Sunday, September 14.

Listed below are the nominees in several categories.

Best Motion Picture- Drama: “Ano Ang Kulay ng mga Nakalimutang Pangarap?” (Development Council of the Philippines & LargaVista Entertainment), “Ekstra” (Cinemalaya Foundation & Quantum Films), “Norte, Hangganan ng Kasaysayan” (Wacky O Productions), “On the Job” (Star Cinema ABS-CBN Film Productions, Inc. & Reality Entertainment) and “Transit” (Cinemalaya Foundation & TEN17P)

Best Motion Picture- Musical or Comedy: “Four Sisters and A Wedding” (Star Cinema ABS-CBN Film Productions), “It Takes A Man and A Woman” (Star Cinema ABS-CBN Film Productions & Viva Films) and “Instant Mommy” (Quantum Films)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role- Drama: Cherie Gil (“Sonata”), Irma Adlawan (“Transit”), Lorna Tolentino (“Burgos”),  Lovi Poe (“Sana Dati”), Rustica Carpio (“Ano Ang Kulay ng mga Nakalimutang Pangarap?”) and Vilma Santos (“Ekstra”)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role- Drama: Arnold Reyes (“Ang Tag-araw ni Twinkle”), Dingdong Dantes (“Dance of the Steelbars”), Jhong Hilario (“Badil”), Joel Torre (“On the Job”) and Mark Gil (“A Philippino Story”)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role –Musical or Comedy: Angel Locsin (“Four Sisters and A Wedding”), Bea Alonzo (“Four Sisters and A Wedding”), Eugene Domingo (“Instant Mommy”), Sarah Geronimo (“It Takes A Man and A Woman”) and Tuesday Vargas (“Ang Pabo Man ay Turkey Rin”)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role –Musical or Comedy: Enchong Dee (“Four Sisters and A Wedding”), John Lloyd Cruz (“It Takes A Man and A Woman”), Rafael Rosell (“Gaydar”) and Tom Rodriguez (“Gaydar”)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role –Drama, Musical or Comedy: Angel Aquino (“Ang Huling Chacha ni Anita”), Coney Reyes (“Four Sisters and A Wedding”), Jackie Lou Blanco (“Ano Ang Kulay ng mga Nakalimutang Pangarap?”), Ruby Ruiz(“Ekstra”) and Tart Carlos (“Ekstra”)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role –Drama, Musical or Comedy: Dick Israel (“Badil”), Joey Marquez (“On the Job”), Joey Paras (“Dance of the Steelbars”), Marlon Rivera (“Ekstra”) and Ping Medina (“Transit”)

Best Breakthrough Performance by an Actress: Krystle Valentino (“Purok 7”), Isabelle Daza (“Lihis”), Jasmine Curtis-Smith (“Transit”), Max Collins (“Bamboo Flowers”), Teri Malvar (“Ang Huling Chacha ni Anita”) and Yeng Constantino (“Shift”)

Best Breakthrough Performance by an Actor: Adrian Cubido (“Lauriana”), Chino Jalandoni (“Sonata”), Marc Justine Alvarez (“Transit”), Mimi Juareza “Quick Change”) and Ruru Madrid (“Bamboo Flowers”)


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with