Prado, Cayubit rule criterium races

Joey Villar - The Philippine Star
Prado, Cayubit rule criterium races
Jermyn Prado.
Ernie Penaredondo

MANILA, Philippines — Out to reclaim her old throne as the queen of Southeast Asian cycling, Jermyn Prado dominated the women’s criterium of the PhilCycling National Championships for Road in Tagaytay Tuesday.

Prado, who struck gold in the 2019 SEA Games individual time trial also in Tagaytay but was dethroned in the recent Hanoi Games, blew away the field in the race done under a points format, winning with a full 20-point effort.

Go for Gold’s Boots Ryan Cayubit topped the men’s side ahead of teammate Jonnel Carcueva and two-time LBC Ronda Pilipinas champion Jan Paul Morales.

Other category winners were 7-Eleven’s Rench Michael Bondoc (men’s junior Under-23), Pepito Khalil (men’s 17-18 years old), Guill Aisaiah Farin (men’s youth 16-under). Kim Bonilla (women’s juniors), and Angelica Altamirano (women’s youth).

Philippine Olympic Committee and PhilCycling president Abraham Tolentino flagged off the event.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with