Galedo, 2 others top ITT races
(The Philippine Star) - January 14, 2018 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines — Mark Galedo, Marella Salamat and Jay Lampawog led the charge of the country’s top riders as they ruled the individual time trial (ITT) of the Phl National Cycling Championships for Road inside the Subic Bay Freeport yesterday.

Galedo clocked 43 minutes, 6.876 seconds to win the gold medal in the men’s ITT over a 31-km course, to secure the national champion’s jersey from the PhilCycling.

The former SEA Games gold medalist also banked the top purse of P50,000 from PRU Life UK, which backs the PRUride ph 2018.

Galedo’s fellow national cyclists George Oconer and Rustom Lim completed the podium, finishing the race-against-the-clock 19 and 30 seconds behind.

“I will proudly wear this jersey,” said Galedo, who, like all the other 25 riders who raced the ITT, had to pedal through Subic’s strong winds that rushed from almost all directions along the entire route.

Pru Life UK senior vice president and chief marketing officer Allan Tumbaga, world top-ranked cyclist Filipino-American Coryn Rivera, Prudential PLC head of sponsorship Diane Pender and PhilCycling secretary general Billy Sumagui awarded the prizes to the winners.

Salamat, the SEA Games ITT queen, was hardly challenged in her pet event and won the 21-km women’s race in 34:49.163. She also grabbed the P50,000 prize.

Taiwan’s Chng Ting Ting settled for silver with a time 1:07 slower than Salamat, while Jermyn Prado, winner of the women’s road race Friday, was third this time in 36:58.177.

Lampawog took the under-23 title in 45:02.038, followed by Warren Bordeos (46:17.315) and Ronilla Quita (46:54.928). 

Jan Paul Morales topped the men’s race, Jermyn Prado ruled the women’s event and Ismael Gorospe dominated the U-23 category in the road races last Friday.

The national championships will conclude with the Criterium races on Jan. 21 at McKinley West in Taguig City.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with