PDP-Laban to serve as fiscalizer of Marcos administration – Duterte

Cecille Suerte Felipe - The Philippine Star
PDP-Laban to serve as fiscalizer of Marcos administration â Duterte
Former president Rodrigo Duterte, chairman of PDP-Laban, swears in offi cers of the party faction during a national assembly in Pasay City yesterday.

MANILA, Philippines — The Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) under the wing of former president Rodrigo Duterte will serve as so-called “fiscalizer” of the Marcos administration if needed.

During the PDP-Laban’s 2022 National Assembly in Pasay City yesterday, Duterte said his party would not be confrontational with President Marcos.

“We are not going to quarrel. Far from it. We will be giving our full support for him politically. But the President can be very sure that in the coming days, we will fiscalize. When we see something wrong, we will raise our voice, because that is the essence of our presence here,” the former chief executive said.

Duterte personally presided over the election of Palawan 2nd District Rep. Jose Alvarez as the new party president, succeeding former energy secretary Alfonso Cusi.

The national assembly, which also served as its 40th anniversary celebration, had the theme “40 Years of Enlightened Nationalism.”

Senate Minority Leader Aquilino Pimentel III, the son of the founder of PDP-Laban, said “the original PDP Laban does not recognize any unauthorized election… We have our own set of party officers.”

The Duterte-wing PDP Laban also elected Sen. Robinhood Padilla as its executive vice president.

Others elected were Parañaque City 1st District Rep. Edwin Olivarez as vice president for the National Capital Region; Sen. Francis Tolentino, vice president for Luzon; Cebu City Mayor Michael Rama, vice president for Visayas; and Sen. Ronald dela Rosa, vice president for Mindanao.

Former cabinet secretary Melvin Matibag retained his position as the party’s secretary general.

Deputy Speaker Aurelio Dueñas Gonzales Jr. of the 3rd District of Pampanga was elected PDP Laban treasurer, while Sen. Bong Go remained as auditor.

The new set of PDP Laban National Committee chairpersons consists of former energy undersecretary Astra Pimentel, membership committee; lawyer Richard Nethercott, legal affairs and arbitration committee;

Former interior undersecretary Jonathan Malaya, public information committee; Masbate Gov. Antonio Kho, finance committee; San Juan City Rep. Ysabel Zamora, youth affairs; Rianne Cuevas, livelihood committee, and lawyer Yvette Cutaran Contacto, education committee.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with