Kathryn, Piolo, Alfred lead winners at FAMAS 2024

Charmie Joy Pagulong - The Philippine Star
Kathryn, Piolo, Alfred lead winners at FAMAS 2024
From left: Piolo Pascual, Alden Richards, Kathryn Bernardo, Marian Rivera, Dingdong Dantes, and Coco Martin pose for a photo at the 72nd FAMAS Awards held Sunday night at the Manila Hotel.
Photo from Alfred’s Instagram page

MANILA, Philippines — For her riveting performance in “A Very Good Girl,” Kathryn Bernardo was named Best Actress at the just-concluded Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards held Sunday night at the Manila Hotel. Piolo Pascual and Alfred Vargas, on the other hand, bagged the Best Actor awards for “Mallari” and “Pieta,” respectively.

The horror film “Mallari” won Best Picture while Louie Ignacio took home the Best Director trophy for “Papa Mascot.”

“Mallari” also earned Gloria Diaz the Best Supporting Actress award while L.A. Santos accepted the Best Supporting Actor for his role in the movie “In His Mother’s Eyes.”

The Best Child Actor trophy went to Euwenn Mikaell for “Firefly,” Best Child Actress to Elia Ilano for “Ghost Tales,” Best Documentary to She Andes for “Maria,” and Best Screenplay to Enrico Santos for “Mallari.”

On the other hand, Carlo Mendoza received the Best Cinematography award for “GomBurZa,” Best Production Design for Marielle Hizon (“Mallari”), Best Editing for Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino (“Iti Mapukpukaw”), Best Musical Score for Teresa Barrozo (“GomBurZa”), and Best Sound for Immanuel Verona and Nerrika Salim (“Mallari”).

Gaspar Mangarin got the Best Visual Effects trophy for “Mallari,” Best Short Film was awarded to “Huling Sayaw ni Erlinda” by Gabby Ramos, and Best Original Song was Finggah Lickin for “Becky & Badette.”

Alfred Vargas also bags the Best Actor award for ‘Pieta.’
Photo from Alfred’s Instagram page

Celebrity couple Marian Rivera and Dingdong Dantes received the FAMAS Bida sa Takilya recognition for “Rewind.”

To honor the legendary names in the Philippine industry, FAMAS also bestowed special awards and citations.

These were the Lifetime Achievement Award for Tina Loy, Romeo Rivera, and Perla Bautista; Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Efren Reyes Jr.; FAMAS Circle of Excellence Award for Nora Aunor; FAMAS Special Citation Award for Gloria Romero, Greg Martin, and Pilar Padilla; and FAMAS Presidential Award for Pempe Rodrigo and Gina De Venecia.

Coco Martin, Sen. Lito Lapid, Sen. Bong Revilla Jr., Sen. Robin Padilla, Dante Rivero, Eddie Gutierrez, Pepito Rodriguez, and Roger Calvin were conferred with Iconic Movie Actors of Philippine Cinema recognition.

Sharon Cuneta, Nova Villa, Snooky Serna, Barbara Perez, Marissa Delgado, Pilar Pilapil, and Divina Valencia, meanwhile, were honored as Iconic Movie Actresses of Philippine Cinema.

Christopher de Leon and Vilma Santos-Recto were presented with the Circle of Excellence Award for their film “When I Met You In Tokyo.”

Helen Gamboa was given with the Susan Roces Celebrity Award; Joaquin Domagoso with German Moreno Youth Achievement Award; Elwood Perez with Dr. Jose Perez Memorial Award; and Baby K. Jimenez with Angelo “Eloy” Padua Memorial Award for Journalism.

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with