Young Creatives Challenge discovers new breed of artists

Bot Glorioso - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — Six months after the formal launch of the Young Creatives Challenge (YC2), playwrights, songwriters, graphic artists, and content creators trooped to the Samsung Hall at SM Aura for the grand finals and awarding ceremony.

The YC2 is a competition that showcases the creativity of Filipino youth organized by the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) through the support of Sen. Imee Marcos and Philippine Creative Industry Development Act (PCIDA). It was created to inspire, recognize, and showcase Filipino talents in the fields of songwriting, screenwriting, playwriting, graphic novels, animation, game development, and online content creation.

During her speech, Sen. Imee shared that her first venture into discovering musically talented Pinoys via the Metro Manila Popular Music Festival, popularly known as Metropop, which boosted the careers of singers and songwriters to popularity. National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab won in the first-ever edition of Metropop in 1978 for his composition Kay Ganda ng Ating Musika. Freddie Aguilar’s Anak also made it to the Metropop’s finals and became an international hit.

Among the Top 10 finalists in the YC2 Songwriting Category, Lambing, composed by Rocky emerged as the grand winner while Dalawang Guhit by Burn Piamonte, and Bagasbas by Likha, placed first and second runners-up, respectively. Local music greats such as Jimmy Antiporda, Noel Cabangon, Kedy Sanchez, Virginia Bactud and Joseph Lanting served as judges.

The lady senator believes that the YC2 program is a good avenue to discover more talented Pinoys whose creative genius is a great contribution to the development and growth of the creative industries in the country.

She, too, mentioned the experimental cinema in the early ‘80s that produced such cinematic masterpieces as “Himala” and “Oro, Plata, Mata.” “It’s the equivalent of independent films today, that’s why we are hoping to discover new talents,” said Imee who also produced “Pintakasi” in 2011.  

In a recent news report, DTI Secretary Alfredo Pascual said that YC2 is an ode to human creativity, a salute to the boundless imagination, and an affirmation of the infinite horizons awaiting the young Filipinos’ vibrant minds.

A total of 470 Filipino artists, aged 18 to 35, joined the competition in their chosen category: songwriting, playwriting, graphic novels, animation, and game development. Less than a hundred emerged as grand finalists who vied for the Top 3 slots for each category. Second runner-up winners of each category walked away with P300,000; first runner-up, P500,000; and the grand prize, P1 million. The competition also included an Online Content Creation Challenge via the TikTok app with distinct mechanics and a separate prize pool.

The awarding ceremonies were hosted by content creator Jerome Sang and beauty queen-model Nicole Cordoves.

Below is the full list of winners according to each category:

GAME DEVELOPMENT: High Times by YYM Danni (grand winner); Craggenrock by Ardeimon (first runner-up); and Keyboard Warrior RPG by Alex Valdez Jr. (second runner-up).

ANIMATION: “Ang Kampanilya” by MeeProduction (grand winner); “Drop of Love” by Randolph Go (first runner-up); and “Free” by Empanada Production (second runner-up).

GRAPHIC NOVEL CREATION: The Girl and the Tamaraw by AJRAVII (grand winner); Wari Wari by Nuno (first runner-up); and Katag by Rico Magallona (second runner-up).

PLAYWRITING: Ang Pagbuo ng Baliana by Tumatarok Theater Company (grand winner); Siopao by Angel Salvador Chiutena (first runner-up); and in-Mate by Aldrich Cancino (second runner-up).

SCREENWRITING: Full length — Bugkos: End of Childhood by Breech Asher Harani (grand winner); Hail, Winston! By Gio Gonzalves (first runner-up); and Lalaki, Lalake by Calvin Ponteblanca (second runner-up). Shortfilm — Fishing the Moon Out of Water by John Peter Chua (grand winner); Angela and Her Dying Lola by Mark Terence Molave (first runer-up), and Una’t Huli by Lampara Productions (second runner-up).

ONLINE CONTENT CREATION: Rose Ann Espina (grand winner); Rubenich Reyes and Nicole Merilo (first runner-up); and Tine Acosta (second runner-up).

vuukle comment


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with