Maria Clara Awards statuette designed by Guillermo Tolentino
Maria Clara Awards: Short-lived but glorious
REMEMBER WHEN? - Danny Dolor (The Philippine Star) - January 20, 2019 - 12:00am

The Maria Clara Awards, established by the Manila Times in 1950, was short-lived. It lasted for only two years. But its brief existence was glorious. The panel of judges was distinguished. The likes of Wilfrido Ma. Guerrero, Sarah Joaquin, Ramon Tapales, Joaquin Roces.

The statuette made of bronze was designed by future of National Artist sculptor  Guillermo Tolentino. It symbolized the best in cinematic arts.

Kamay ni Satanas Best Picture for 1950

The first honorees for the year 1950 was led by Doña Narcisa vda. De Leon of LVN as Producer of the Year. Other winners: Kamay ni Satanas (Best Picture), Gerry de Leon (Best Director for Kamay), Nena Cardenas (Best Actress for Doble Kara), Reynaldo Dante (Best Actor for Kamay), Alicia Vergel (Best Supporting Actress for Mapuputing Kamay), Tony Santos (Best Supporting Actor for Hantik), Mila Nimfa (Best Child Performer for Nanay Ko).

The second Maria Clara awardees for the year 1951 was led by Judge Jose Vera of Sampaguita Pictures. Other awardees: Sisa (Best Picture), Eddie Romero (Best Director of Prinsesa at Pulubi), Anita Linda (Best Actress for Sisa), Pempe Padilla (Best Actor for Diego Silang), Rosa Mia (Best Supporting Actress for Roberta), Andres Iturbi (Best Supporting Actor for Diego Silang), Tessie Agana (Best Child Performer for Prinsesa at Pulubi).

Sisa Best Picture for 1951

The Maria Clara Awards ended its brief but glorious existence when FAMAS was established in 1952. It took over the function of recognizing the yearly achievements in the movie industry.— RKC

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with