Parangal ends with usual bang

Ver Paulino (The Philippine Star) - December 28, 2015 - 9:00am

MANILA, Philippines – Where have the stars gone? Gone to far-flung places... everyone (taking a much-needed respite from months of hustle and bustle)?

It was a lackluster Gabi ng Parangal Sunday night at the Kia Theater in Quezon City but, as usual and as expected, it was trailed by the usual bang topped by the “DQ” of Honor Thy Father (story on front page of The STAR last Sunday) from the Best Picture competition but not from the rest of the categories.

How would you feel if you were a guest at a party and you were told that, okay, you could be in the kitchen or in the garage or at the dining room but not at the sala. People behind Honor Thy Father must have felt that way.

Anyway, the annual Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) won’t be the same without the usual brouhaha that passes with the old year.





The Honor Roll

• Best Picture: #Walang Forever

• Second Best Picture: Buy Now, Die Later

• Third Best Picture: My Bebe Love

• Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado (#Walang Forever)

• Best Actor: Jericho Rosales (#Walang Forever)

• Best Director: Erik Matti (Honor Thy Father)

• Best Supporting Actress: Maine Mendoza (My Bebe Love)

• Best Supporting Actor: Tirso Cruz III (Honor Thy Father )

• Best Child Performer: Krystal Brimner (Honor Thy Father )

• Best Screenplay: #Walang Forever

• Best Original Story: #Walang Forever

• Best Editing: Nilalang

• Best Cinematography: Nilalang

• Best Production Design: Buy Now, Die Later

• Best Visual Effects: Nilalang

• Best Sound Engineer: Ditoy Aguila (Nilalang)

• Best Musical Score: Jessy Lazatin (Nilalang)

• Best Theme Song: Honor Thy Father

• Best Festival Make-up Artist: Ryan and Ericka (Honor Thy Father)

Special Awards

• Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: My Bebe Love

• FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence: #Walang Forever (plus P400,000 cash)

• Male Celebrity of the Night: Cesar Montano

• Female Celebrity of the Night: Jennylyn Mercado

• Best Float Award: Buy Now, Die Later

• Plaque of Appreciation: Francis Tolentino

41st MMFF New Wave

Full Feature Category

• Best Picture: Ari: My Life with a King

• Special Jury Prize: Toto

• Best Director: John Paul Su (Toto)

• Best Actor: JM de Guzman (Tandem) and Francisco Quinto (Ari: My Life with a King)

• Best Supporting Actor: Thou Reyes (Toto)

• Best Supporting Actress: Bibeth Orteza (Toto)

• Best Screenplay: Robert Tantico (Ari: My Life With a King)

• Manila Bulletin Best Feature Film: Ari: My Life With a King

Animation Category

• Best Picture: Buttons (Marvel Obemio, Francis Ramirez and Jared Garcia)

• Special Jury Prize: Little Lights (Rivelle Mallari)

• Manila Bulletin Best Animation Film: Geo (John Aurthur Mercader)

Student Short Film Category

• Best Picture: Mumu (Jean Cheryl Tagyamon)

• Special Jury Prize: Daisy (Brian Reyes)

• Manila Bulletin Best Short Film: Momento (Jan-Kyle Nieva)

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with