List of 22nd Aliw Awards nominees
Rosalinda L. Orosa (The Philippine Star) - November 15, 2009 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines - Aliw Awards Foundation, Inc. (AAFI) president Rema Manzano recently released the list of finalists for this year’s annual awards which will be presented at the Mega Tent, Pasig City on Nov. 17.

They are:

Best Child Performer — Gabby Bautista, Chenza Chrisabela, Mika Roi Torre, Clark Gamol and Rhap Salazar

Best New Artist (Male) — Dr. Fred Alconis, Diomedes Saraza, Gab Valenciano and Geoff Taylor; (Female) — Eva Castillo, Christine Love, Frencheska Farr and Martha Joy

Best Choral Group — DFA Chorale, PAL Chorale, UP Singing Ambassadors, UST Liturgikon, UST Singers and UP Concert Chorus

Best Dance Company (Classical Folk) — Ballet Manila, Ballet Philippines, Halili Dance Company, Philippine Ballet Theater and Quezon City Performing Artist; (Modern) — Air Dance, Bungkos Palay and Hotlegs

Best Cultural Group — Dagway Sigmahanon (Sigma, Capiz), Sinanduloy Cultural Troupe (Tangub City), Sining Kabpapagariya (Gen. Santos City), Sining Kadidilimudan (Maguindanao), Umalahukan Creative Experience (Quezon City) and Iligan Performing Arts Guild (IPAG)

Best Instrumentalist — Jovianney Emmanuel Cruz (piano), Angelo Ortiz (piano), Joseph Esmilla (violin), Mary Ann Espina (piano), Nonoy Libanan (guitar) and Joseph Esmilla (violin)

Best Emcee (Female) — Phoemela Baranda, Pia Guanio, Issa Litton, Miriam Quiambao, Ladine Roxas, Iya Villania; (Male) — Boy Abunda, Ryan Agoncillo, Jojo Alejar, Billy Crawford, Marc Nelson and Tim Yap

Best Stand Up Comedy Act (Male) —Allan K, Chokoleit, John Lapuz, Pooh and Vice Ganda; (Female) — K Brosas, Candy Pangilinan, Pokwang, Rubi Ruby and Beverly Salviejo

Best Classical Performer (Male) — Noel Azarcon, Jonathan Badon, Al Gatmaitan, Randy Gillonco, Lionel Guico, Dondie Ong; (Female) Agnes Barredo, Aileen Cura, Lara Maigue, Camille Lopez Molina, Izarzurri Vidal, Ana Feleo and Fame Flores

Best Stage Actor (Musical) — Christian Bautista (West Side Story), Jordan Ladra (Ako Si Ninoy), Kierwin Larena (Troy Avenue), Franco Laurel (Isang Panaginip na Fili), Michael de Mesa (Hairspray), Francis Ong (Cinderella the Musical); (Non-Musical) — Dante Balois (Hiblang Abo), Bart Guingona (Tuesdays with Morrie), Teroy Guzman (Othello), Bembol Roco (Guerrilla sa Powell St), Robert Seña (Noli at Fili Dos Mil), Lou Veloso (Hiblang Abo) and Bodjie Pascua (Noli at Fili Dos Mil)

Best Stage Actress (Non-Musical) — Liezl Batucan (Portrait of an Artist as Filipino), Shamaine Buencamino (Atang in Non-Musical Role), Cherie Gil (Master Class), Frances Makil Ignacio (Atang in Non-Musical Role), Julia Enriquez (Noli at Fili Dos Mil); (Musical) — Joanna Ampil (West Side Story), Madel Ching (Hairspray), Karylle (West Side Story), Ayen Munji-Laurel (Atang), Cindy Liper (Ako Si Ninoy) and Aiza Marquez (Cinderella the Musical)

Best Stage Director (Musical) — Arthur Casanova (Fantasticks), Alex Cortez (Atang), Menchu Lauchengco (West Side Story), Floy Quintos (Isang Panaginip na Fili), and Vince Tañada (Ako si Ninoy); (Non-Musical) — Jose Mari Avellana (Portrait of an Artist as Filipino), Ricky Abad (Othello), Behn Cervantes (Pagsamba Ng Bayan), Romeo Narvaez (Dula’ta) and Soxie Topacio (Noli at Fili Dos Mil)

Best Musical Production — Amihan (Miriam College Institute for the Arts), Atang (Dulaang UP), Ako Si Ninoy (Philippine Stagers Foundation), Hairspray (Atlantis), Isang Panaginip na Fili (Dulaang UP) and Sleeping Beauty the Musical (Gantimpala Theater Productions)

Best Non-Musical Production — Dula’ta (Sining Kapapagariya), Gerilya sa Powell St. (Tanghalang Pilipino), Hiblang Abo (Bulwagang Gantimpala), Noli at Fili Dos Mil (PETA), Othello (Tanghalang Ateneo), Portrait of an Artist as Filipino (Repertory) and Pagsambang Bayan (Performing Society, Inc.)

Best Musical Director — Lemuel dela Cruz (Yang Klasiks), Raul Mitra (From Roots to Riches) and Raymond Marasigan and Ely Buendia (Eraserheads Reunion Concert)

Best Concert Stage Director — Louie Ignacio (From Roots to Riches), Kokoy Jimenez (Eraserheads Reunion Concert), Rowell Santiago (20/20), Freddie Santos (Yang Klassiks) and Jobert Sucaldito (Love and Laughter on Valentines Day).

Best Performer in Hotels, Music Lounges and Bars (Female) — Monique Rae, Nina, Olivia, Sabrina and Sitti Navarro; (Male) — Freddie Aguilar, Richard Merk, Richard Poon, Rico Puno and R.J. Jacinto; (Group) — Draybers, Hale, M.Y.M.P., Cueshé, REtroSPECT and Sandwich

Best Performance in a Concert (Smaller Venue) (Male) — Mark Bautista, Rico Blanco, Jimmy Bondoc, Nyoy Volante, George Yang (Yang Klasiks). (Female) Christine Love (A New Love), Joanna Ampil (Valentine Show), Marissa Sanchez (Love is a Thing), Olivia (Color of Jazz), Rachelle Ann Go (Falling In Love) and Claire dela Fuente (Timeless); (Group) — Aegis, Angelos and The CompanY

Best Collaboration in a Concert — Ogie Alcasid/Dingdong Avanzado/Rannie Raymundo (Three Tenors), Jan Nieto/Harry Santos/Bryan Termulo/Gian Magdangal (Four The First Time) and Rico J/ Ai-Ai delas Alas/Pilita Corrales (Love & Laughter on Valentines Day)

Best Major Concert (Male) — Ogie Alcasid (20/20), Gary Valenciano (Gary Live @ 25), Jed Madela (The Voice); (Female) — Charice (The Journey), Regine Velasquez (From Roots to Riches) and Sarah Geronimo (The Next One); (Group) — Eraserheads (The Reunion Concert)

Best Collaboration for a Major Concert — Martin Nievera/Pops Fernandez (Missing You), Kuh Ledsma/Pops Fernandez/Regine Velasquez/Zsa Zsa Padilla (Divas for Divas), Piolo Pascual/Sam Milby/Erik Santos/ Christian Bautista/Mark Bautista (Pop Icons), Side A/Freestyle/M.Y.M.P. (Love to Love to Love), Rico J./Claire dela Fuente/Eva Eugenio/Nonoy Zuñiga/Joey Albert/Rey Valera (OPM Legends).

Chairman of the Screening Committee is Frank Rivera.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with