M.Y.M.P. still makes Momma proud
SOUNDS FAMILIAR - Baby A. Gil (The Philippine Star) - August 29, 2008 - 12:00am

Among all the groups we have in the local music scene today, I do not think there is any that can boast of having more hits than M.Y.M.P. As most of you already know by now, those letters stand for Make Your Momma Proud and these guys do make, not just their brothers but everybody else proud of what they have accomplished. Take a look at what I remember off-hand from among their big sellers.

Only Reminds Me of You, Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now, You Got It All, Friend of Mine, Every Little Thing, Nakapagtataka, I’ll Never Get Over You Getting Over Me, Especially for You, Get Me, Tell Me Where It Hurts, Crazy for You, True Colors, No Ordinary Love, Constantly, Tell Me and many others. Performed by the sweet expressive voice of Juris Fernandez with able backing vocals, guitar playing and arrangements by Chin Alcantara, plus bandmates Edward Jimenez on keyboards; Aemil Rivas, bass; and John Dexter, drums, these songs turned out to be some of the biggest hits of recent times.

Their sheer number should already assure M.Y.M.P. of immortality. And then not. Because think again. Twenty years from now when a singer from the future decides to do a new version of Crazy for You, the reference will not be M.Y.M.P. but the original artist, Madonna. It will be the same case with Nakapagtataka, a Filipino song which was originally popularized by Hajji Alejandro and later successfully covered by his daughter Rachel. M.Y.M.P. excelled or I should say, excels doing cover versions of hits by other artists.

Pop music immortality though hinges on original songs and at this point in its career, that is what should be paramount in the marketing strategy of M.Y.M.P. or any artist for that matter. And that is why I am glad that the latest album by the group has a new original as its first single. Titled MYMP Now, the CD is made up of the usual covers, which I am sure fans would enjoy, but there are two new works by Cattski Espina. These are Now, the new single and Wish List, an anthemic inspirational included in anticipation of the coming Christmas Season.

Hopefully, years from now, somebody will record Now or Wish List and there would be people who would remember how the songs were big hits by a group named M.Y.M.P. The other cuts are Missing You by John Waite; Human by the Pretenders; Baby Don’t You Break My Heart Slow by Vonda Shepard; Set You Free by Side A; Make It Easy on Me by Sybil; Cherish by Madonna; These Dreams by Heart; Impulsive by Wilson Philips; When She Cries by Restless Heart; and Rush Rush, my favorite song from Paula Abdul.

MYMP Now marks the duo’s return to the recording studio after that hugely successful live album two years ago. You can catch them perform songs from Now and other hits at the MYMP Now album tour. It starts tomorrow, Aug. 30 at SM Bicutan followed by SM Taytay on Aug. 31; SM Fairview, Sept. 12; SM Bacoor, Sept. 28; SM North EDSA, Nov. 8; and SM Sta. Rosa, Nov. 9. 

Lolita Carbon at Max

Speaking of acoustic music, you might want to treat yourselves to the torchy tones of Lolita Carbon of Asin. The voice behind Masdan Mo ang Kapaligiran performs in a benefit show for a better Philippines at Max Restaurant on Scout Tuazon, Quezon City on Sept. 13, 7 p.m. For details, you may check out www.missionacts.multiply.com or with Lolit at info.lolitacar-bon@yahoo.com or with Marlene Francisco who is putting the whole thing together at 0917-7372153 or 0928-7538680.

Tickets are priced at P1,000 with dinner; P2,000 with dinner and a mission CD album; P3,000 with dinner, one CD and a T-shirt; P5,000 with dinner, one CD and a raffle stub; P7,000 with dinner, one CD and a painting; and P10,000 for dinner, one CD and one painting.

Top 20 videos on MYX

Meanwhile here are the Top 20 most requested videos on the Pinoy MYX countdown for the week: The One Who Won My Heart by Christian Bautista; Saludo by 6Cyclemind; Very Special Love by Sarah Geronimo; Penge Naman Ako Niyan by Itchyworms; I’m Missing You by Bea Alonzo; Leap of Faith by Hale; Sleep by Rivermaya; The Fight is Over by Urbandub; Ang Pusa Mo by Pedicab; Akala by Parokya ni Edgar; Gumising by DeLara; Betamax by Sandwich; Imposible by KC Concepcion; It’s Over Now by Kyla; Million Miles Away by Nikki Gil; Handa by Miguel Escueta; Will of The Wind by Jolina Magdangal; Ikaw by Ronnie Liang; Starting Over Again by Sheryn Regis; and Again by Arnee Hidalgo.

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with