Antonio Y. De Pio Highway, Cebu
CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal (The Freeman) - November 6, 2014 - 12:00am

On April 8, 1983 the Batasang Pambansa enacted Batas Pambansa No. 383 naming the highway connecting the municipalities of San Remegio and Poblacion as 'Antonio Y. De Pio Highway."

It is named after a lawyer from Bantayan, who was admitted to the Bar on November 6, 1933. Atty. De Pio was also elected as representative of the old 7thDistrict of Cebu. He was congressman from 1957 to 1961. De Pio succeeded fellow Bantayanon, Dr. Nicolas Gandiongco Escario (who also served Cebu City as mayor). Congressman De Pio was succeeded by Atty. Tereso Dumon.

The fellow Bantayanons of Atty. De Pio who were elected congressmen of the 7th District were Atty. Roque Desquitado, Eulalio Causing and Paulino Ybanez.

The old 7th District of Cebu was composed of Asturias, Balamban, Bantayan, Daanbantayan, Medellin, San Remegio, Tuburan, Santa Fe, and Madridejos.

Congressman De Pio was also elected as a delegate of the 1971 Constitutional Convention. He was one of the ten Cebuano delegates to the Constitutional Convention who signed the letter called as "10,000 reasons." It was a letter that exposed the allegation that the allies of President Marcos gave ten thousand pesos to the ConCon delegates to persuade them to support the shifting of the form of government from presidency to parliamentary.

The fellow delegates of De Pio who signed the letter were Fr. Jorge M. Kintanar, Natalio B. Bacalso, Marcelo B. Fernan, Pedro L. Yap (who became Chief Justice of the Supreme Court), Jesus P. Garcia (brother of former Governor and Congressman Pablo P. Garcia), Napoleon G. Rama, Antonio Bacalso (elected as the 1st congressman of the 1st District of Cebu, created by the 1987 Constitution), Oliveros Kintanar, and Andres Flores.

Congressman Antonio De Pio was a member of the Special Committee created by House Resolution No. 59. It was the committee that investigated and recommended the suspension of Congressman Sergio Chiong Veloso Osmeña Jr. from Congress. Serging Osmeña was Representative of the old Second District of Cebu when on June 23, 1960 delivered a privilege speech on the floor of the Congress and attacked President Carlos Polistico Garcia.

Serging Osmeña was suspended by his fellow congressmen and on July 14, 1960 the former filed a petition for prohibition with preliminary injunction against Congressmen Salapida K. Pendatun, and fourteen other congressmen, which included Congressman Antonio De Pio. The Supreme Court on October 28, 1960 dismissed the petition of Serging Osmeña. Congressman De Pio represented himself in the legal suit before the Supreme Court.

Of  the fifteen congressmen who supported the suspension of Serging Osmeña, aside from De Pio, there were also Visayans, like Lorenzo G. Teves (from the province of Oriental Negros) who was elected congressman of the old 1st District of Cebu, from 1954 to 1965 and appointed as governor of Oriental Negros. After being elected he held the position until 1987.

The chairman of the committee that investigated and suspended Serging Osmeña was also from Mindanao. The complete name of Congressman Pendatun is Datu Salipada Khalid Pendatun, a lawyer and a general, and was the first Filipino Muslim to achieve such positions. He was promoted Brigadier General during the World War II. He was also Governor of Cotabato. A town in Maguindanao was named "General Salipada K. Pendatun."



  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with