Brightest bubble stars take center stage tonight

Emmanuel B. Villaruel (The Freeman) - January 17, 2021 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines —  The outstanding performers of the pandemic-disrupted PBA Season 45 Philippine Cup staged in Clark  bubble late last year will formally be honored in the league’s highly anticipated virtual Special Awards Night scheduled today.

To be telecast live from the TV 5 studio in Mandaluyong City starting at 6 p.m., the simple yet meaningful program will be spearheaded by some members of the PBA Board led by chairman Ricky Vargas and commissioner Willie Marcial.

“Kailangan nating bigyan ng parangal at pasalamatan lahat ng mga players, may award man o wala, para makita naman nila yung sakripisyo at hirap na ginawa nila noong nakaraang Philippine Cup bubble,” said Marcial in a report by PBA.ph.

Cebuano star guard Roger Ray “RR” Pogoy of the Talk ‘N Txt Tropang Giga is one of the six contenders for the coveted Best Player of the Conference (BPC) plum. The others are Pogoy’s TNT teammate Ray Parks Jr.. Stanley Pringle of the Barangay Ginebra Kings, Matthew Wright and Calvin Abueva of the Phoenix Super LPG Fuel Masters, and CJ Perez of Teffafirma Dyip.

They are also top candidates for the Outstanding/Elite Five accolade.

Vying for the Outstanding Rookie honors are Aaron Black of Meralco, Arvin Tolentino of Ginebra, Barkley Ebona of Alaska, Aris Dionisio of Magnolia, and Roosevelt Adams of Terrafirma.

Locked up in a tight battle forthe Most Improved Player commendation are Reynel Hugnatan of Meralco,  Prince Caperal of Ginebra, Justin Chua and Jason Perkins of Phoenix, Raul Soyud of NLEX, and Javee Mocon of Rain or Shine.        

In the running for the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship award are Abueva, Perez, Kevin Alas of NLEX, Scottie Thompson of Ginebra, and Gabe Norwood of Rain or Shine.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with