Freeman Cebu Sports

Bautista, Po, Gabasa rule 11th AV Challenge

The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines - Russell Bautista, Peter Tyler Po and Junia Gabasa stamped their class to rule the 11th Alta Vista Junior Golf Challenge, which closed Friday at the AVGCC course in Pardo, Cebu City.

Bautista of Mactan Island Golf Club won the overall title of the tournament while Po of Cebu Country Club and Gabasa of the host club won the title for class A.

Following a new format of the best two of the three rounds played for the tournament, Bautista bagged the overall crown with a first day of 77 strokes and third round score of two-over-par 72 in the course that was shortened for the three-day event.

Po took home the class A (15-17 years old) title for boys with a three-day total of 229 strokes on rounds of 76, 78, and 75.  Bautista finished first runner-up with 232 (77-83-72) while second runner-up honors went to Marlon Santiago of Del Monte with 255 strokes (88-80-87).

Gabasa, who is still 14 years old, but decided to play in the older age category, ran away with the girls’ crown scoring 249 strokes on rounds of 78, 79, and 75.  Runner-up honors went to Riko Nagai of CCC with 272 strokes (87-93-92).

The title for boys’ class B (13-14 years old) went to Mactan’s Scott Reyes with 249 strokes (85-81-83).  First runner-up was CCC’s Daniel Yap with 272 (101-88-83) and second runner-up was Miggy Linaac of Del Monte with 297 (101-96-100).

Mactan’s Angela Mangana topped class B of the girls’ division with 259 strokes on rounds of 88, 83, and 88.

The title for boys’ class C (11-12 years old) went to Joaquin Velez of CCC with 168 on rounds of 86 and 82.  Players for the younger divisions played only two rounds.

First runner-up was Tatsuyoshi Ochiai of CCC with 177 (86-91) while second runner-up was Rolando Bregente of Del Monte with 180 (88-92).

For the girls’ division, Iloilo’s Alysa Aurelio bagged the title with 196 (96-100).

Ren Moromasa of Alta Vista topped boys’ class D (9-10) with a total of 182 (95-87).  Raymund Tampus of Aguinaldo finished as first runner-up with 192 (92-100) and second runner-up was Simon Wahing of Del Monte with 194 (95-99).

Abby Abarcas of Del Monte topped the girls’ division with 171 (87-84) while Alta Vista’s Grace Pauline Quintanilla finished as runner-up with 182 (88-94).

Cliff Richard Nuñeza of Del Monte won the title of boys’ class E (6-8 years old) with 91 strokes on nines of 47 and 44.  First runner-up was Jun Ochiai of CCC with 117 (61-56) and second runner-up was Clemente Ordeneza of Del Monte with 124 (67-57).

The title for the girls’ division went to Iloilo’s Kim Bo Min with 109 (56-53).

In the Special division for players aged 18 to 21 years old, Patrick Fudolin of Del Monte topped the boys’ division with 244 (80-84-80) while runner-up honors went to Luigi Coloyan of Mactan with 285 (108-93-84).

For the distaff side, Gabee Crystal bagged the title with 248 strokes on rounds of 81, 85, and 82.

Cebu Country Club won the team event with its bets Riko Nagai, Tyler Po, Joaquin Velez, and Daniel Yap.  First runner-up was the team of MIGC composed of Russell Bautista, Ashley Llena, Angela Mangana, and Scott Reyes.  Del Monte Team 1 composed of Rolando Bregente, Miggy Linaac, Niño Miñoza, and Marlon Santiago finished as second runner-up.

The winner of the Club of the Year title was Cebu Country Club. www.fullpointcebu.com


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with