Cebu News

Gwen, PJ endorse Pepito for PCL-Cebu president

Gregg M. Rubio - The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines — One Cebu Party councilors and allies have formed their slate for the next officers of the Philippine Councilors’ League-Cebu Chapter.

The slate is led by Toledo City Councilor Ricardo “Kuya Nick” Pepito to be the next president of the PCL-Cebu Chapter. The PCL president sits as an ex-officio member of the Provincial Board.

In a meeting yesterday, reelected Representative Pablo John “PJ” Garcia, who ran unopposed in the last May 9, 2022 elections in the third district, has endorsed Pepito.

Garcia said he had already talked with her sister, reelected Governor Gwendolyn Garcia and One Cebu Party head, and the latter also expressed support to Pepito.

“We are endorsing Nick Pepito to be the next PCL president,” Rep. Garcia said.

Pepito will be challenging incumbent PCL-Cebu president Caroline Bacaltos who is reportedly seeking reelection.

Bacaltos assumed the PCL post when the group of now Tabogon Mayor-elect Francis Edward Salimbangon stepped down after 15 months in office following their term sharing agreement in the September 2019 PCL election.

Bacaltos who belongs to the Nacionalista Party is also an ally of the Garcias.

Sixth District Congresswoman-elect earlier told The Freeman that her 22-year old son, neophyte Councilor-elect Lorenz Lagon of Tuburan town, is also interested in the PCL post.

But a partial list of Pepito’s slate includes the name of Lorenz as board of directors (BOD). PJ reportedly resolved the matter in favor of Pepito. The Lagons are also allies of the Gacias.

Other names in Pepito’s slate include Mandaue City Councilor Maline Cortes-Zafra for vice president, Boljoon Councilor Alexeus Celis for secretary-general, Tabogon Councilor Jojessa Hortelano for treasurer, San Remigio Councilor Jay Olivar for auditor, Liloan Councilor Chary Cañete for PRO and Pinamungajan Councilor Marvin Miralles for business manager.

For BODs are Lagon, Medellin Councilor Harold Salimbangon, Alcoy Councilor Jonathan Abajon, Argao Councilor Jonathan Villegas, Madridejos Councilor Vince Cyrus Rebadomia, Minglanilla Councilor Jay-R dela Calzada, Toledo City Councilor Amiboy Perales and Dumanjug Councilor Stanley Aldemita while three more slots are reserved for appointed members of the board.

The PCL elections are usually held in September, months after the newly elected officials officially assumed office on June 30.  (FREEMAN)


  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with