STAR dominates EJAP Awards

Elijah Felice Rosales - The Philippine Star
STAR dominates EJAP Awards
The Philippine STAR was named Business News Source of the Year at the 32nd Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines Business Journalism Awards held Friday at Fairmont Hotel in Makati City. STAR reporters (3rd to 5th from left) Elijah Felice Rosales, Lawrence Agcaoili and Louella Desiderio accepted the award for the newspaper. They are joined by (from left) economist and researcher Rene Pizarro, lawyer and economist Nicasio Conti, EJAP president Jordeene Lagare, Fortune Insurance chief compliance officer Gerard Lukban and BPI president and CEO Jose Teodoro Limcaoco.

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippine STAR has been named “Business News Source of the Year” in the 32nd Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines’ (EJAP) Business Journalism Awards, where it also won recognition in nearly all categories.

During the awards night on Friday, EJAP named Danessa Rivera “Agriculture-Mining Reporter of the Year” and “Energy Reporter of the Year,” her second and third wins in the Awards sponsored by the Ayala Group. In 2019 Rivera was also recognized for her excellent reportage on energy stories.

Louella Desiderio was awarded “Macroeconomy Reporter of the Year” and “Trade Reporter of the Year.” With the win, Desiderio has stamped her mark in trade journalism, topping the category three times in the last four years.

Louise Maureen Simeon was adjudged “Finance Reporter of the Year,” providing The STAR with a back-to-back victory in the category. It was her second win in the EJAP Awards.

Elijah Felice Rosales was named “Telco-Transport Reporter of the Year,” his third recognition in a different category in the EJAP Awards.

Iris Gonzales, the writer behind the column “Eyes Wide Open,” won the “Business Features of the Year” for her investigative report on the budget overrun that hounded telco giant PLDT Inc. in 2022.

The other awardees were Ronnel Domingo for banking and Miguel Camus for capital markets, both from the Philippine Daily Inquirer. Jon Viktor Cabuenas bagged the “Online Reporter of the Year award” for GMA News Online.

Marianne Go heads The STAR’s business section, assisted by co-editors Conrado Diaz Jr., Zinnia dela Peña, Rica Delfinado, and Lawrence Agcaoili. They also work with editorial assistant Elaine Briones, who facilitates most of the logistical side of the section’s operations.

vuukle comment




  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

Get Updated:

Signup for the News Round now

or sign in with