Ramon Magsaysay Awards selects

The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — 4 winners The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) has selected four individuals from across the Asian region for this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Awardees.

Their names, RMAF said in a press statement, would be announced on Aug. 31 during the opening of the 64th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Season, which will conclude with a formal awarding ceremony on Nov. 30 in Manila.

“Since 1958, the Ramon Magsaysay Award has been conferred on great men and women working in Asia who have exemplified what we celebrate as ‘Greatness of Spirit’ – the same spirit that Pres. Ramon Magsaysay has embodied throughout his life,” said RMAF chairman Aurelio Montinola III.

“This year, the Board of Trustees has selected four individuals from across the region whom we believe personify the best of Asia and the best of humanity,” he added.

Celebrated as the most prestigious award in Asia, the Ramon Magsaysay Award had been previously given to outstanding Asian leaders, including His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Akira Kurosawa, Muhammad Yunus, Ela Bhatt and Sir Fazle Abed, who have all become global icons after receiving the award.

“The Ramon Magsaysay Award remains one of Asia’s strongest heritage brands because we have always addressed some of the region’s most challenging problems through the Magsaysay laureates we select,” Montinola said.

The foundation said that the 64th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Season would showcase “the immense impact of the works of the 2022 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees to the world.”

“Our theme for this year’s awards is ‘Greatness of Spirit, Beyond Borders,’ a perfect reflection of the transformative work and inspiring lives of our 2022 Ramon Magsaysay awardees. This year’s Magsaysay laureates prove that goodness knows no nationality, age or gender – truly Greatness of Spirit is borderless,” RMAF president Susanna Afan said.

The RMAF also unveiled its main poster for the 64th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Season. The design, inspired by the limitlessness of the universe, is rendered in a simple and contemporary geometric look, the RMAF said.

“The Ramon Magsaysay Award has always been a source of pride for us Asians. With this year’s roster of Magsaysay laureates, it will continue to do so. The 2022 Ramon Magsaysay awardees, like all of our past laureates, are committed to make Asia a better and kinder place for all,” Afan said.


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with