Bam Aquino breaks into âMagic 12â of official, partial tally
Sen. Bam Aquino, who hopes to extend his stay in the Senate, speaks on the campaign trail in January 2019.
Otso Diretso campaign

Bam Aquino breaks into ‘Magic 12’ of official, partial tally

(Philstar.com) - May 15, 2019 - 2:28am

MANILA, Philippines — Reelectionist Sen. Bam Aquino broke into the so-called Magic 12 of the partial and official count of the May 2019 senatorial race—the only one from the opposition Otso Diretso slate to do so.

According to the first batch of results canvassed by the Commission on Elections—sitting as the National Board of Canvassers—Tuesday evening, Aquino sat at the edge of the winners’ circle with 2,335,724 votes.

The canvassed votes represent the 34 certificates of canvass from 130 clustered precincts across the country and Philippine posts abroad.

Comelec Transparency Server’s partial and unofficial results as of 12:55 a.m. Wednesday, however, showed that Aquino remained outside of the top 12.

With less than 5% of election returns remaining to be tallied in the partial and unofficial count, Aquino placed 14th with 13,835,603 votes.

He still has to, at least, edge out fellow incumbent senators JV Ejercito at 13th spot and 12th placer Nancy Binay to make it to the winners' circle.

Aquino's fellow bets from Otso Diretso: human rights lawyer Chel Diokno, peace advocate Samira Gutoc, elections lawyer Romy Macalintal, former solicitor general Florin Hilbay and former Quezon Rep. Erin Tañada accepted their defeat Tuesday. 

Villar, Poe take the lead

Reelectionist Cynthia Villar remained the front runner in the partial and official count with 4,092,454 votes. She was followed by another reelectionist Grace Poe with 3,650,288 votes.

The partial and official tally also showed administration-backed candidates dominating the 12 seats in the upper chamber up for grabs.

Former presidential aide Bong Go placed third with 3,293,341 votes, while Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano ranked fourth with 3,251,819.

They were followed by former top cop Bato Dela Rosa (5th) with 3,128,061 votes, Sen. Sonny Angara (6th) with 3,022,955 votes, late dictator’s daughter Imee Marcos (7th) with 2,850,643, former MMDA chief Francis Tolentino (8th) with 2,584,833 votes, actor Lito Lapid (9th) with 2,520,316 votes, Sen. Koko Pimentel (10th) with 2,439,571 votes and Nancy Binay (11th) with 2,366,035.

Outside of the winners’ circle were Sen. JV Ejercito (13th) with 2,292,264 votes, Bong Revilla (14th) with 1,997,438 votes and Serge Osmeña (15th) with 1,692,319 votes.

The canvassing session will resume at 10 a.m. Wednesday, according to a tweet report of One News PH. — Gaea Katreena Cabico

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with