Bangsamoro Transition Commission members named

Bangsamoro Transition Commission members named
President Rodrigo Roa Duterte signs the Executive Order reconstituting the Bangsamoro Transition Commission in Malacañan on November 7. Also in the photo are Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) Peace Panel Chair Mohagher Iqbal, Presidential Peace Adviser Jesus Dureza, MILF Chairman Al Haj Murad Ebrahim, and Government of the Philippines (GPH) Peace Implementing Panel Chair Irene Santiago.
Presidential Photo / King Rodriguez

MANILA, Philippines — The Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process on Friday announced the 21 members of the expanded Bangsamoro Transition Commission that will draft the new Bangsamoro enabling law.

On Nov. 7, 2016, President Rodrigo Duterte signed an executive order that expanded the BTC membership from 15—seven from the government and eight, including the chairperson, from the Moro Islamic Liberation Front—to 21. The new commission will have 10 government-appointed members and 11, including the chairperson, from the MILF.

The crafting of the enabling law is part of the implementation of the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro signed between the government and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front on March 2014.

The expanded BTC is composed of the following:

  • Haron M. Abas
  • Firdausi Ismail Y. Abbas
  • Ibrahim D. Ali
  • Hussin Amin
  • Maisara Dandamun-Latiph
  • Samira Gutoc-Tomawis
  • Hatimil Hassan
  • Mohagher M. Iqbal
  • Ghadzali Jaafar
  • Raissa H. Jajurie
  • Gafur A. Kanain
  • Datu Mussolini Sinsuat Lidasan
  • Jose I. Lorena
  • Abdulraof Abdul Macacua
  • Hussein P. Muñoz
  • Romeo Saliga
  • Susana Salvador-Anayatin
  • Omar Yasser C. Sema
  • Said M. Shiek
  • Ammal D. Solaiman
  • Melanio U. Ulama

"This will signal the start of the work to come up with an inclusive Bangsamoro law that will truly reflect and address the clamor for a genuine political autonomy for the Bangsamoro people in Mindanao," Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Jesus Dureza said.

The new members of the expanded BTC were chosen based in their capacity to listen and theur extensive knowledge in Mindanao, according to Irene Santiago, chair of the Government Panel Implementing the Bangsamoro Accords.

"It is expected that the new members of the BTC will hit the ground running. Their role is vital for us to reach a CAB-compliant enabling law," Santiago said.

The BTC is expected to submit the draft of the new enabling law to the Congress by July in time for the Duterte's second State of the Nation Address and the resumption of the session of Congress.

The bulk of the commission's work will focus on the crafting of a new proposed measure that will replace the Bangsamoro Basic Law that got stuck in Congress due to lack of quorum and due to concerns that it might violate the 1987 Constitution.

Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao Regional Gov. Mujiv Hataman welcomed the appointments to the BTC and said the region would continue to support the peace process. He said the ARMM "looks forward to working together with the Commission in laying down the foundations for genuine autonomy, coupled with building stronger social and political institutions in the region."

Enactment of the Bangsamoro Basic Law will create a new political entity that will replace the ARMM. The proposed Bangsamoro territory will have greater autonomy than the present ARMM but will remain part of the Republic of the Philippines.

"It is our fervent hope that the Commission will continue the good work that has led us to this point in our history – where our deepest hopes and aspirations as Bangsamoro people are closer than ever to becoming our reality," Hataman said.





  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with