Time to elect new senators from Cebu in 2022

WHAT MATTERS MOST - Atty. Josephus B. Jimenez (The Freeman) - February 26, 2021 - 12:00am

In the glorious era of our forefathers, Cebu was always represented in the Senate, the golden times of the Osmeñas, Sottos, Cuencos, Rodriguezes, From 1916 to 1922, Don Sergio was in the Lower House, and elected speaker at a very young age, But in 1922, he was elected together with Celestino Rodriguez to represent the 10th district when members of the Senate were elected by regional apportionment. From then on, Cebu was always represented in the Senate.

The 10th district was composed of only Cebu Province while the other districts comprised five to seven provinces. In 1925, Don Sergio was reelected with Pedro Rodriguez. In 1928, the two were elected again. In 1931, it was the tandem of Don Sergio and Manuel C. Briones. The two were reelected in 1934. In 1941, the elections were held at large and no longer by district. Don Vicente Rama and Don Mariano Jesus Cuenco were elected with Carlos P. Garcia from Bohol, Claro M. Recto from Batangas, Manuel Roxas from Capiz, and Elpidio Qurino from Ilocos Sur, among others. But they couldn’t serve their full terms following the Japanese invasion. In 1946, Don Vicente Sotto placed second, Don Mariano Jesus Cuencco was seventh and Carlos Garcia of Bohol was eighth. Because of Philippine independence, new elections were held in 1947. Sotero Cabahug, a Nacionalista, was 14th in an election dominated by the Liberal Party.

In 1949, Don Felimon Sotto, LP, placed 20th in an election topped by another LP, Quintin Paredes of Ilocos. In 1951, Manuel Briones, NP, was third in an election topped by Jose Laurel, also NP. Mariano Jesus Cuenco of LP was 12th. Carlos P. Garcia, NP was fourth. In 1953, Cuenco turned NP and got sixth place. In 1955 no one from Cebu was elected. In 1957, topped by Gil Puyat of NP, Fulvio Pelaez ran but didn’t make it. In 1959, Ferdinand Marcos of LP topped the senate race. Mariano Jesus Cuenco of NP was fifth and his partymate Alejandro Almendras was eighth. In 1961, Raul Manglapus and Manuel Manahan placed first and second. No Cebuano was elected that year. Jose Briones got only 141 votes.

In 1963, Gerry Roxas (Mar's dad) of LP topped the race. No Cebuano was elected. Manuel Cuenco of LP was 13th and only eight were elected. In 1965, Jovito Salonga of LP topped the race and Serging Osmeña, also LP placed fourth. In 1967, Jose Roy, NP placed first. Ninoy Aquino of LP was second. No Cebuano was elected. Jose Briones of LP was only 17th. Lorenzo Teves, NP, placed seventh. In 1969, Arturo Tolentino of NP topped the race. Rene Espina from Cebu, NP, placed seventh. The Senate was abolished during Martial Law and was revived in 1987 after the EDSA Revolution. All the candidates of President Cory won under the LABAN Party except two; Augusto Sanchez and Arthur Defensor.

They were replaced by Erap Estrada who placed 14th and JP Enrile, the 24th.

The 1987 winners in order were: Jovy Salonga, Butz Aquino, Orly Mercado, Sonny Osmeña, Ed Angara, Bert Romulo, Letty Shahani, Rene Saguisag, Neptali Gonzales, Joey Lina, Wigberto Tañada, Heherson Alvarez, Sotero Laurel, Teopisto Guingona, Raul Manglapus, Vicente Paterno, Victor Ziga, Ernie Maceda, Nene Pimentel, Boy Herrera, Mamintal Tamano, Santanina Razul. Rene Espina lost at 34th. In 1992, in a race topped by Tito Sotto, LDP, (grandson of our Don Vicente Sotto), Boy Herrera placed fourth. Sonny Osmeña of NPC placed 23rd. In 1995, GMA topped the race, Serge Osmeña placed seventh, and Marcelo Fernan placed 10th. Only 12 were deemed winners. In 1998, Loren Legarda of Lakas topped and Tito Sotto was third, Sonny Osmeña placed eighth. In 2001, Noli de Castro topped and Serge was third. Boy Herrera lost, and placed 20th. In 2004, Mar Roxas topped, Sonny and Boy Herrera both lost. Loren topped in 2007, Tito Sotto lost. No Cebuano was elected.

In 2010, Bong Revilla topped, and Serge Osmeña placed 10th. Lito Osmeña placed 24th of 12. In 2010, Grace Poe topped, no Cebuano was elected. In 2013, Grace Poe topped, no one from Cebu was elected. In 2016, Drilon topped, Tito Sotto was third, Serge lost at 14th place. In 2019, Cythia Villar topped. Serge Osmeña was 17th. No one from Cebu made it. And so, for 2022, I nominate three candidates from Cebu: Eddie Gullas, Gwen Garcia, and Mike Rama. Cebu needs representation in the Senate. And we should all rally behind them.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with