The old congressional districts of Bohol
CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal (The Freeman) - July 8, 2019 - 12:00am

(Part 7) 

In the 1700s, the island of Bohol was part of the Diocese of Cebu. The proximity of the island of Cebu to Bohol resulted in migration and inter-marriages between the two places. Majority of Cebuanos and Boholanos are interrelated by affinity or blood, the result of this is that their politics and religious practices share common roots.

These were the representatives of the old 2nd district:

JOSE ANICETO BUTALID CLARIN. Served the district from 1907 (1st Philippine Legislature) until 1916 (3rd Philippine Legislature). Son of Aniceto Velez Clarin, the first civilian governor of Bohol who was from Cebu. Jose Clarin left the Philippine Legislature to run in the first senatorial election held on October 3, 1916.

He served longest as senator, representing the 11th Senatorial District from 1916 to 1935. The 11th Senatorial District was composed of the provinces of Bohol, Misamis, and Surigao. Nautically, Bohol is adjacent to Misamis (originally the only province divided in 1929 into two; Occidental which now has Oroquieta City as capital, and Oriental with Cagayan de Oro City as capital) the town of Jagna serves routes to Camiguin daily.

The town in Misamis Occidental called as Clarin is named after the Boholano senator, Jose Clarin. Senator Clarin was no ordinary senator he served as Senate President pro tempore for years. He was born on December 12, 1879 and died on June 2, 1935. His death was announced in the New York Times June 3, 1935 issue.

MACARIO LUMAIN. Succeeded Representative/Senator Jose Clarin, he was elected in 1916 (4th Philippine Legislature) and the 5th Philippine Legislature (1919-1922). He was the son of Ramon Lumain and Filomena Cosare. He married Ceferin Falcon. Macario had a brother priest by the name of Fr. Felipe Lumain.

CORNELIO G. SARIGUMBA. The district representative during the 6th Philippine Legislature (1922 to 1925). He became a lawyer on September 24, 1921.

OLEGARIO BUTALID CLARIN. Born on March 6, 1892, he was the younger brother of Senator Jose Clarin. He studied at the Cebu High School and served the district in the 7th Philippine Legislature (1925-1928). He was elected during the April 23, 1946 Senatorial election. He placed 9th of the 16 contested seats. The first eight served until 1951 while the last eight served until 1949. Senator Olegario Clarin ran under the Nacionalista (Liberal Wing), which would later be known the Liberal Party, founded by President Manuel Acuña Roxas Sr. (To be continued)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with