The old congressional districts of Bohol
CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal (The Freeman) - June 28, 2019 - 12:00am

(Part 3)

In the 1700s, the island of Bohol was part of the Diocese of Cebu. The proximity of the island of Cebu to Bohol resulted in migration and inter-marriages between the two places. Majority of Cebuanos and Boholanos are interrelated by affinity or blood, the result of this is that their politics and religious practices share common roots.

Old 1st District of Bohol

CANDELARIO BORJA (Representative from 1907 to 1916). He became a lawyer on March 26, 1908 and served as judge of the Court of First Instance of Misamis under the 20th Judicial District. He married Consuelo Dancel and had a son by the name of Justiniano who became a lawyer on January 10, 1938. Justiniano Borja became the elected mayor of Cagayan de Oro in 1954. Justiniano was appointed in 1962 to the Mindanao Development Authority. He married Dulce Roa Valdehuesa who was a daughter of Judge Jose Valdehuesa who was a College of Law dean. Mayor Justiniano was born on July 6, 1912 and died on October 3, 1964.

CELESTINO GALLARES (Representative from 1916 --4th Philippine Legislature-- to 1922 --5th Philippine Legislature). Celestino was the son of Kapitan Claudio Gallares. Like his father, Celestino became mayor of Tagbilaran from 1913 to 1915. He married Julita Butalid of the Butalid political clan of Bohol. In 1931 Celestino ran for governor of Bohol but was defeated by Carlos Polistico Garcia (who eventually became president of the republic). A son of Celestino Gallares by the name of Edilberto, became a lawyer on February 3, 1951, and became the assistant executive secretary of the Carlos P. Garcia.

FERMIN TORRALBA (Representative from 1922 --6th Philippine Legislture-- to 1928 --7th Philippine Legislature). He was the son of Margarito Maturan Torralba and Cirila Sarmiento. He married Rosario Pizon. He was also elected as secretary of the Philippine Senate in 1933. The old Philippine Senate, established in 1916, divided the country into 12 senatorial districts, with each district electing two senators.

JOSE CONCON (Representative from 1928 to 1934 --called the 8th Philippine Legislature and 9th Philippine Legislature). The 10th Philippine Legislature only had one year to pave the way for the passage of the Tydings-McDuffie Law and its creation, the 1935 Constitution. Another member of the Concon clan who served the government was Zacarias Concon, justice of the peace from 1924 to 1930. (To be continued)

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with