The Old Congressional Districts of Leyte (Part 7)
CEBUPEDIA - Clarence Paul Oaminal (The Freeman) - June 5, 2019 - 12:00am

In the 1700s Leyte and Samar were part of the Diocese of Cebu. The proximity of the island of Cebu to Leyte resulted in migration and inter-marriages between the two places. Majority of Cebuanos and Leyteños are interrelated by affinity or blood, the result of this is that their politics and religious practices share common roots.

Old 3rd District of Leyte

From 1907 to 1931 the district was composed of the following: Abuyog, Barugo, Burauen, Carigara, Dagami, Hinunangan, Jaro, Pastrana, Hinundayan, La Paz, Capoocan, and Anahawan (Delgado).

The following served as its representatives: Florentino Penaranda (1907-1909), Abdon Marcadesch (1909-1912), Miguel Romualdez (1912-1916), Segundo Apostol (1916-1919), Julio Siayangco (1919-1922), Jose Ma. Veloso (1922-1925), Ruperto Kapunan (1922-1925), and Jorge B. Delgado (1928-1931).

Florentino Penaranda was born in Barugo, Leyte, on June 18, 1876 and died on September 3, 1938. He married Francisca Villasin of the Villasin Clan of Bantayan, Cebu. Streets in the towns of Barugo and Tunga are named after Penaranda.

Congressman Miguel Romualdez was the son of Daniel Romualdez and Trinidad Crisostomo. He married Brigida Binday and is the brother of Vicente Orestes Lopez Romualdez (he was dean of the St. Paul’s College, College of Law, at present a Law school is named after him in Tacloban City, Leyte. He is also the father of former first lady Imelda Romualdez Marcos). Miguel is the father of Daniel “Danieling” Romualdez who became speaker of Congress. Miguel was from Tanauan and died on May 25, 1950.

Ruperto Kapunan became a lawyer on December 17, 1927 and became a journalist, having published the “El Obrero” an English-Spanish-Visayan Publication founded on January 19, 1924.

Even while Jorge B. Delgado was still alive, a barrio converted into a town was named after him, this was the barrio of Anahawan. It was the American governor general, Dwight F. Davis (governor from July 8, 1929 to January 9, 1932), who named the town after him on January 1, 1932. However, Delgado moved for the reversion of the name to the original name, Anahawan. (To be continued)

P.S.: “Scoutmaster Sergio Damazo Jr. bridge-naming proposed ordinance.” Calling all Josenian scouts, USJ-R administrators and community, please kindly attend its public hearing this June 11, 2019 (Tuesday), 1 p.m., Session Hall, Cebu City, and support its passage. Adelante!

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with