Out-of-towners dominate CEPCA Tatluhan chessfest
The members of Noah Declan Chess Team of Bohol pose with the CEPCA officials after emerging as champion in the 3rd Boy “Chessmoso” Pestaño Memorial Cup Tatluhan Rapid Tournament over the weekend at the Barracks Chess Club in Robinsons Galleria Cebu.
Contributed Photo
Out-of-towners dominate CEPCA Tatluhan chessfest
Emmanuel B. Villaruel (The Freeman) - October 22, 2019 - 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — They’re good as advertised.

The out-of-town teams led by Noah Declan swept the top three spots of the Cebu Executives and Professionals Chess Association (CEPCA)-organized 3rd Boy “Chessmoso” Pestaño Memorial Cup Tatluhan Rapid Tournament over the weekend at the Barracks Chess Club in Robinsons Galleria Cebu.

Manned by Norman Longhas, Glicerio Pardillo Jr. and Genesis Apog, the Noah Declan Chess Team of Bohol emerged as champion in the 9-round Swiss system competition with 16.0 points. They pocketed P30,000 for their efforts.

Triple Lima of Catbalogan, Samar powered by Anthony Makinano, Leo Lofranco and Robert John Padel and AIMCOOP of Aurora, Zamboanga del Sur composed of Roumundo Jaime Edades, Wilhelm Joey Ardiente and Cecil Cuevas both finished with 14.0 points but Triple Lima took the second place honors by virtue of a higher tiebreak output.

Triple Lima got P20,000 while AIMCOOP received P10,000.

The Bachelors of Richard Natividad, Ruel Nuttal and Martin Sean Kwan, Sagay City Chess Club A of International Master Joel Pimentel, Candido Lepiten and Amalio Bayot, Darkhorse of Junaico Segismar, John Vandam Gutib, and Bernabe Tagulo Jr. and CDEO Veterans Move of Jaime Joshua Frias II, Cleto Vasquez and Eduardo Tare all ended their campaigns with 13 points.

The Bachelors, however, placed fourth courtesy of a superior triebreaker. Sagay City A finished fifth followed by Darkhose and CDEO Veterans Move.

Rounding up the top 12 finishers with 12.0 points apiece were Team Mamaslang of Basilio Pandan Jr., Bryan Jose and Jason Nabatlao, Pawn na Pula of  Ronald Ganzon, Lemuel Montero and Angelo Team, Chesson of Levi Mercado, Abdul Halil Abdullah, and Bobby Salomon, Cebu Strikers of Rommel Ganzon, Jason Bandal, and Jovannie Babano, and EVC of Jerish John Velarde, Ariel Joseph Abellana, and Raymond Abellana.

Presented by CEPCA under the leadership of Engr. Jerry Maratas, the two-day tilt that drew a total of 64 teams was made possible through the support of Jemar Engineering Services, Celjem Construction and Development Corporation, Handuraw Pizza, Salon de Rose and the family of the late Boy Pestaño, the founder of CEPCA from which the annual event is being named.

  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with