Freeman Cebu Sports

Caviteño grabs singles title in Sinulog bowling

Caecent No-ot Magsumbol - The Freeman

CEBU, Philippines - BJ Aganus of Imus, Cavite knocked off 519 pins to rule the singles event of the 17th Sinulog Open National Bowling Tournament at the Gaisano Bowlingplex in Barangay Banilad, Cebu City.

Aganus posted the highest average scratch of 230.50 after two games to take home the title. BALP's Edwin Perey and Alex Ngoi occupied the next two spots with 479 and 458 pins, respectively.

In the all event's category, Danny Sabang of CETBA-55AB bagged the top honors with 1,342 pinfalls. ATBA's Ruben Legorio placed second with 1,303 pins, while BTA's Oscar Onopia came out third with 1,277.

BTA's Johnny Yap and Ed Aniñon grabbed the doubles crown with 891 pins followed by Egay Latag and Art Gamolo with 858 and another BTA bet Arthur and Luther Tapaya placed with 856.

On the other hand, Jules Pedrajas, Gerry Malulun and Luke Bolongan emerged as the team champion with 1,286 pinfalls.

Aui Padawan, Crystal Chavez and Jomar Jumapao representing Prima placed second with 1,274, while Padawan, Xyrra Cabusas and Bede Ilano settle for third with 1,252 pinfalls.

BTA-PSBC's Vivian Padawan made her presence felt well after getting two special awards for being the top senior and lady qualifier with 1,354 pins. She was trailed by Ruben Legorio with 1,343 and Ed Aniñon with 1,337.

Padawan also leads the 48 qualifiers for the masters division followed by ATBA's Jules Pedrajas with 1,344 and Ruben Legorio with 1,343 pins. (FREEMAN)



  • Latest
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with