PBA comeback-player award to be named after Adornado
() - September 26, 2010 - 12:00am

MANILA, Philippines –  In 1981, William ‘Bogs’ Adornado came back from a career-threatening knee injury and won his third Philippine Basketball Association Most Valuable Player award while playing for the U-Tex Wranglers.

On Sept. 29, the Philippine Basketball Association Press Corps fetes a player who made an astounding comeback and created a huge impact with his performance in the season just passed.

The 2009-2010 Comeback Player of the Year, presented by Phoenix Petroleum, will be awarded the William “Bogs’”Adornado Trophy in honor of the PBA’s multi-titled player and Hall of Famer, who generously agreed to lend his fabled name for the award.

The name of Adornado being mentioned in the same breath with the Comeback Player of the Year award was a fitting tribute to the player who became the first to win the PBA MVP award three times.

“It’s such a big honor to have the Comeback Player Award named after me,” said Adornado, who overcame open surgery and a long and painful recuperation period to set history. “It’s nice to be remembered this way.”

Adornado, who became the first player to score 2,000 points which he recorded during the finals of the 1976 All-Filipino, suffered a knee injury in the Open Conference of that same season and was sidelined for nearly two years.

While on his way to recovery, the former member of the RP team in the 1973 ABC champion squad, played a pivotal role for the Redmanizers’ title-clinching win in Game 4 of the best-of-five finals over Toyota in the 1979 All-Filipino.

He continued his remarkable comeback the following season, this time with the U-Tex Wranglers, whom he led to the 1980 Open Conference crown over the Toyota Tamaraws.

During the deciding game of the series, Adornado was instrumental for the Wranglers, who fought back from four points down in the final 16 seconds of regulation to force overtime and won in a game regarded as one of the best ever played in the annals of the PBA.

“Naming the Comeback Player Award after Bogs Adornado is very apt,” said former PBA commissioner Sonny Barrios. “Bogs, after being sidelined with what was thought as a career-ending knee injury, came back with a bang by again winning an MVP award – his third!”

“The award is a very meaningful one as it recognizes PBA players making the extra effort to elevate their standard of performance,” said PBA chairman Rene Pardo of B-Meg Derby Ace. “It exemplifies the well known Filipino trait of picking one’s self after being down, and trying harder. No finer model for this award than Bogs Adornado.”

Last season, Mike Cortez, then playing for San Miguel Beer, was feted of Comeback Player of the Year award after playing a stellar role in the Beermen’s 4-3 victory over sister team Barangay Ginebra Gin Kings in their best-of-seven series.

Cortez played a pivotal role in the Beermen’s gut-wrenching win over the Gin Kings and emerged as second in the Finals MVP derby won by teammate Jonas Villanueva.

Other past winners of the Comeback Player of the Year were Mike Hrabak (2008), Gary David (2007), Danny Seigle (2006), Jayjay Helterbrand (2004), Bong Ravena (2003), Ronnie Magsanoc (2002), Ato Agustin (2000), Benjie Paras (1999), Glen Capacio (1998), Paul Alvarez (1997, 1993), Ritchie Ticzon (1996), and Yoyoy Villamin (1995).

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with