Atienza triumphs in Manila
- Bebot Sison Jr., Cecille Suerte Felipe () - May 18, 2004 - 12:00am
Manila re-electionist Mayor Lito Atienza was proclaimed yesterday as duly elected local chief executive in the country’s capital by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) Board of Canvassers.

Atienza, of the Liberal Party (LP), will serve his third and last term as mayor of Manila until year 2007.

Atienza was proclaimed winner by lawyer Ramon Rosello and Manila City Chief Prosecutor Ramon Garcia, chairman and vice chairman of Manila’s Board of Canvassers, respectively which wrapped up its canvassing of votes in six days.

Atienza garnered 455,302 votes against his opponent former mayor Mel Lopez, standard bearer of the Koalisyon ng Nagkakaisang Pilipino (KNP) in the mayoralty race in Manila. Lopez received 219,580 votes.

Supporters chanted "Atienza, Atienza" as the mayor was proclaimed at around 7:05 p.m.

He vowed to continue Manila’s beautification in the coming years.

"I will value this fresh mandate. We will have more development and housing programs in the city," Atienza told his supporters.

He earlier said the results of the recently held elections just confirms that Manileños appreciate a development-oriented administration. "We consider this as a tremendous vote of confidence."

In the vice mayoralty race, incumbent Vice Mayor Danilo Lacuna (KNP) will stay at city hall after beating Atienza’s runningmate Don Ramon Bagatsing, 380,758 to 272,118 votes.

Bagatsing is a two-term councilor and a grandson of former Manila Mayor Ramon Bagatsing Sr.

The board also proclaimed incumbent Rep. Ernesto Nieva as District 1 congressman with 120,570 votes; incumbent Rep. Jaime Lopez as District 2 congressman with 46,495 votes.

Miles Roces was proclaimed congressman for the third district last Saturday after the board canvassed about 10 to 15 percent of the total number of precincts. He already garnered more than 6,000 votes.

His opponent incumbent Rep. Harry Angping had been disqualified by the Comelec for not being a Filipino.

Another incumbent, Rep. Rodolfo Bacani, won in the congressional race in the city’s fourth district with 56,713 votes. Bacani was challenged by Manuel Nonong Bagatsing, a son of former Mayor Ramon Bagatsing Sr.

Incumbent Rep. Joey Hizon also won another term to represent the city’s fifth district with 65,524 votes beating Kim Atienza, son of the mayor.

In the city’s six district, which was vacated by extradited and unseated Rep. Mark Jimenez, the board proclaimed Bienvenido Abante as the duly elected representative.



1. Atienza, Joselito Jr. (LP) — 455,302

2. Lopez, Gemiliano (KNP) — 219,580

Vice Mayor

1. Lacuna, Danilo (KNP) — 380,758

2. Bagatsing, Don (LP) — 272,118

Congressman (District 1)

1. Nieva, Ernesto (LP) — 120,570

2. Quirante, Rodolfo (KNP)

Congressman (District 2)

1. Lopez, Jaime (KNP) — 46,495

2. Lacson, Marlon (LP) — 43,980

Congressman (District 3)

1. Roces, Miles (LP) — proclaimed

2. Angping, Harry (NPC-KNP) disqualified

Congressman (District 4)

1. Bacani, Rodolfo (LP) — 56,713

2. Bagatsing, Manuel (KNP) — 42,659

Congressman (District 5)

1. Hizon, Joey — 65,524

2. Atienza, Alejandro — 56,952

Congressman (District 6)

1. Abante, Bienvenido Jr. — 41,241

2. Ocampo, Rosenda Ann — 33,146

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with