Musical film "Emir" biggest winner at 8th Golden Screen Awards
- Ricky L. Calderon () - April 6, 2011 - 12:00am

The musical film “Emir” emerged as the biggest winner at the 8th Golden Screen Awards held Saturday, April 2, at the Teatrino in Greenhills. It won a total of 10 trophies, including Best Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy, and Best Director for Chito S. Roño.

The drama flick “Sigwa,” a look into the First Quarter Storm, was voted Best Motion Picture-Drama. It also won the award for Best Screenplay for Bonifacio Ilagan.

The 8th Golden Screen Awards, hosted by Eugene Domingo and Roderick Paulate, honored the best cinematic achievements of 2010 in simple rites that saw the EB Babes doing the opening number. Paying tribute to the Movie Icons of Our Time was the Rainmakers, with Ms. Imelda Papin doing the finale.

Garnering top acting honors were Lovi Poe, who won Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role (Drama) for “Mayohan,” while Sid Lucero won the award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role (Drama) for the film “Muli.” 

Both are first time winners at the Golden Screen Awards although Sid was recipient of the Breakthrough Performance by an Actor award for “Donsol” a few years back.

Top acting honors in comedy went to Angelica Panganiban and John Lapus, both for the riotous film “Here Comes the Bride.”

Both Angelica and John were first time winners at the Golden Screen Awards.

Angelica was able to accept her award while John’s award was accepted by her good friend Kris Aquino who even read John’s acceptance speech which he sent via SMS.

Frencheska Farr won Breakthrough Performance by an Actress for “Emir” while Martin del Rosario (“Dagim”) and Rocky Salumbides (“Tarima”) tied for the Breakthrough Performance by An Actor plum.

Even if he promised to attend, director Chito Roño was a no show. In a text message he sent to us, Direk Chito said: “So freaked out by the honor given to ‘Emir.’ Can’t thank Golden Screen enough. My spirit is leaping but my blood pressure is higher. Kaya siguro kanina pa ako hilo. So sad I can’t even join my stars and staff.”

Dulce, who was a nominee as best supporting actress for “Emir,” was the one who accepted all the awards of the big-budget musical film.

Zsa Zsa Padilla and Tirso Cruz III won the Best Supporting Actress and Best Supporting Actor awards respectively for “Sigwa.”

Here’s the complete list of winners at the 8th Golden Screen Awards:

Breakthrough Performance by An Actor: Martin Del Rosario, Dagim, and Rocky Salumbides, Tarima

Breakthrough Performance by An Actress: Frencheska Farr, Emir

Best Visual Effects: Ambient Media and Thaumatrope Animation, RPG Metanoia

Best Musical Score: Josefino Toledo, Emir

Best Sound: Albert Michael Idioma and Addis Tabong, Emir

Best Original Theme Song: “Bakit Ako Naririto?” from the movie Emir, music and lyrics by Gary Granada, interpreted by Frencheska Farr

Best Production Design: Rodrigo Ricio, Emir

Best Editing: Jerrold Tarog, Emir

Best Cinematography: Neil Daza, Emir

Best Story: Chito Roño and Jerry Gracio, Emir

Best Original Screenplay: Bonifacio Ilagan, Sigwa

Best Supporting Actor (Drama, Musical or Comedy): Tirso Cruz III, Sigwa

Best Supporting Actress (Drama, Musical or Comedy): Zsa Zsa Padilla, Sigwa

Best Director: Chito Roño, Emir

Best Actor (Musical or Comedy): John Lapus, Here Comes The Bride

Best Actress (Musical or Comedy): Angelica Panganiban, Here Comes The Bride

Best Actor (Drama): Sid Lucero, Muli

Best Actress (Drama): Lovi Poe, Mayohan

Best Motion Picture (Musical or Comedy): Emir

Best Motion Picture (Drama): Sigwa



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?
Login is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with