'Blue Moon' chalks up most nominations in 3rd Golden Screen Awards

- Ricky L. Calderon () - July 19, 2006 - 12:00am
The well-crafted and well-acted drama "Blue Moon" from Regal Entertainment got the most number of nominations in the forthcoming 3rd Golden Screen Awards to be held on August 30. This Eddie Garcia flick directed by Joel Lamangan got a total of 12 nominations, including Best Motion Picture-Drama and Best Director for Joel Lamangan.

The satirical comedy "La Visa Loca" from Unitel Pictures picked up 7 nominations, including Best Motion Picture-Comedy and a Best Actor nomination for Robin Padilla.

In the new category, Best Motion Picture-Independent/Digital, the much awarded "Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros" of UFO Pictures and the beautifully photographed "Ilusyon" got nine nominations each.

The complete list follows.

Best Motion Picture-Drama:
Blue Moon (Regal Entertainment) Dubai (Star Cinema Productions) Exodus (Imus Productions/Reality Films) Mulawin: The Movie (GMA Films and Regal Entertainment) Nasaan Ka Man (Star Cinema Productions)

Best Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy:
Ako Legal Wife (Regal Entertainment) Bikini Open (Seiko Films) Can This Be Love (Star Cinema Productions) La Visa Loca (Unitel Films)

Best Motion Picture-Independent/Digital:
Ala Verde Ala Pobre (Muchachos Bravos Filmworks) Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong (Sampay Bakod Productions) Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros (UFO Pictures) Ilusyon (Digital Viva) Mga Pusang Gala (Erasto Films/MLR Films)
Pepot Artista (Buruka Films)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role-Drama:
Irma Adlawan (North Diversion Road) Ana Capri (Ala Verde Ala Pobre) Jaclyn Jose (Sarung Banggi) Jennylyn Mercado (Blue Moon) Meryll Soriano (Room Boy)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role-Drama:
John Arcilla (North Diversion Road) Carlo Aquino (Sa Aking Pagkagising Mula sa Kamulatan) Ricky Davao (Mga Pusang Gala) Eddie Garcia (Blue Moon) Aga Muhlach (Dubai) Yul Servo (Ilusyon)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role-Musical or Comedy:
Jennylyn Mercado (Lovestruck) Zsa Zsa Padilla (Ako Legal Wife) Sandara Park (Can This Be Love) Cherry Pie Picache (Bikini Open) Rufa Mae Quinto (La Visa Loca)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role-Musical or Comedy:
Hero Angeles (Can This Be Love) Jay Manalo (Ako Legal Wife) Robin Padilla (La Visa Loca) Piolo Pascual (Dreamboy) Jeffrey Quizon (Lasponggols)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role-Drama, Musical or Comedy:
Boots Anson-Roa (Blue Moon) Claudine Barretto (Dubai) Gloria Diaz (Nasaan Ka Man) Hilda Koronel (Nasaan Ka Man) Cherry Pie Picache (Ako Legal Wife)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role-Drama, Musical or Comedy:
Soliman Cruz (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros) Ketchup Eusebio (Sa Aking Pagkagising Mula sa Kamulatan) Alcris Galura (Mga Pusang Gala) Ping Medina (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros) Michael de Mesa (Big Time) Dennis Trillo (Blue Moon)

Breakthrough performance by an Actress:
Analyn Bangsa-il (Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong) China Cojuangco (Anak Ng Tinapa) Jaycee Parker (Ilusyon) Roxy Ramirez (Bikini Open)

Breakthrough performance by an Actor:
Cholo Barretto (Sa Aking Pagkagising Mula sa Kamulatan) Elijah Castillo (Pepot Artista) Angelo Ilagan (Sarung Banggi) Nathan Lopez (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros) Rhenuel Ordono (Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong) Jamie Wilson (Big Time)

Best Director:
Jeffrey Jeturian (Bikini Open) Joel Lamangan (Blue Moon) Clodualdo del Mundo (Pepot Artista) Ellen Ongkeko-Marfil (Mga Pusang Gala) Briccio Santos (Ala Verde Ala Pobre) Auraeus Solito (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros)

Best Original Screenplay:
Roy Iglesias (Ako Legal Wife) Mes de Guzman (Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong) Michiko Yamamoto (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros) Jorge Isaac (Blue Moon) Mark Meily (La Visa Loca) Clodualdo del Mundo (Pepot Artista)

Best Screenplay Adaptation:
Jun Lana and Rody Vera (Mga Pusang Gala) Don Michael Perez (Mulawin: The Movie) Dennis Marasigan (North Diversion Road)

Best Cinematography:
Albert Banzon (Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong)
Nap Jamir (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros)
Rolly Manuel (Blue Moon) Charlie Peralta (Dubai) Odessy Flores (Ilusyon)

Best Editing:
Anil Rao (Ala Verde Ala Pobre) Abbas Tabbas and Arasaw Kurabokov (Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong) Clarence Sison (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros) Marya Ignacio (Blue Moon) Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos (Ilusyon)

Best Production Design:
Briccio Santos and Anil Rao (Ala Verde Ala Pobre) Clint Catalan, Cristina Dy and Lily Esquillon (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros) Joey Luna (Blue Moon) Danny Red (Ilusyon) Norman Regalado (La Visa Loca)

Best Sound:
Bob Macabenta (Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong) Michael Albert Idioma (Blue Moon)
Arnold Reodica (Dubai) Allan Hilado, Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos (Ilusyon) Lorrie Illustre and Rachelle Tesoro (Pepot Artista)

Best Musical Score:
Bernard Manzano (Ang Daan Patungong Kalimugtong) Pepe Smith (Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros) Von de Guzman (Blue Moon)
Vincent de Jesus (La Visa Loca) Lutgardo Labad (Mulawin: The Movie)

Best Original Song:
"Ang Bisa ng Visa" from the movie La Visa Loca (written by Vincent de Jesus and Mark Meily; performed by Isay Alvarez)
"Bikini Open" from the movie Bikini Open (written by Diego a.k.a. Felix Bakat; performed by G.I. Babies)
"Ikaw Lamang" from the movie Dubai (written by Ogie Alcasid and performed by Gary Valenciano)
"Sa Kanyang Piling" from the movie North Diversion Road (written by Jessie Lucas and Dennis Marasigan; performed by J.B. Katipunan)
"Salisi" from the movie Ilusyon (written and performed by Isha)

Best Visual Effects:
Imaginary Friends (Enteng Kabisote 2)
Ignite Media (Exodus) Paolo Villaluna and Ellen Ramos (Ilusyon) Roadrunner (Kutob) Riot Inc. (Mulawin: The Movie)

  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with