LTFRB opens 106 PUV routes for free rides

Colorful jeepneys wait for passengers at the intersection of EDSA and Aurora Boulevard in Quezon City before dawn, Friday (March 11, 2022). Qualified Public Utility Vehicle (PUV) operators are set to receive fuel cash cards from the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) next week as part of the P2.5 billion fuel subsidy program of the Department of Transportation (DOTr) to mitigate the effect of the continuing hike in petroleum products to PUVs.
Miguel De Guzman

MANILA, Philippines — The Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) has opened 106 more routes for public utility vehicles (PUV) in Metro Manila and Rizal to provide free rides to commuters.

The LTFRB said the PUV routes giving out free rides are in Caloocan, Mandaluyong, Makati, Manila, Malabon, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Pasig, Quezon City, Taguig, Pasay, Pasig and Cainta in Rizal.

Also covered by the free rides are PUV routes from the North Luzon Express Terminal and Parañaque Integrated Terminal Exchange going to cities.

The specific routes are listed on the LTFRB’s Facebook page.

“More PUV routes will be opened in the coming days to offer free rides to commuters,” the LTFRB said.

Under the service contracting program, PUV drivers and operators will provide free rides to commuters and will be compensated by the government based on the number of trips traveled per week.

Scroll to continue

The LTFRB launched the third phase of the program last month, with 510 PUVs plying the EDSA bus carousel and other select routes in Metro Manila.

Over 49 million passengers have been given free rides since April 11, the transport agency said.

Show comments