More incumbents reelected

Ramon Efren Lazaro - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — More local government officials who ran for reelection are assured of another term.

In Cagayan Valley, the governors of five provinces were among those given a fresh mandate.

The provincial board of canvassers proclaimed on Tuesday Govs. Manuel Mamba of Cagayan, Carlos Padilla of Nueva Vizcaya, Dakila Cua of Quirino and Marilou Cayco of Batanes.

Isabela Gov. Rodito Albano was proclaimed yesterday.

Mamba, Padilla and Cayco were reelected for their third term and Albano and Cua for their second term.

Bulacan Gov. Daniel Fernando won by a wide margin against former governor Wilhelmino Sy Alvarado. Fernando obtained 974,069 votes against Alvarado’s 577,087 votes.

Reps. Luisa Lloren Cuaresma of Nueva Vizcaya and Ciriaco Gato Jr. of Batanes also won in their reelection bids.

In Quezon province, Angelina Tan was elected as the first woman governor.

Tan garnered 790,394 votes compared to 320,228 of incumbent governor Danilo Suarez.

Suarez’s son David defeated former agriculture secretary Proceso Alcala in the congressional race in the second district.

ACT-CIS party-list Rep. Eric Go Yap, who was appointed legislative caretaker of  Benguet, won as representative of the province.

Yap garnered 123,801 votes compared to his closest rival Victor Palangdan who got 71,200 votes.

Duterte siblings

In Davao City, President Duterte’s sons Paolo and Sebastian are set to take oath as partial and unofficial votes showed their commanding lead over their opponents.

Paolo is leading the congressional race in the first district of Davao City, with 211,872 votes compared to his opponent Mags Maglana’s 14,101 votes.

As of Tuesday afternoon, Sebastian, who is running for mayor, garnered 593,064 votes compared to the 67,313 votes of his closest rival lawyer Ruy Elias Lopez, incumbent congressman and son of former mayor Elias Lopez.

In Ormoc, Mayor Richard Gomez and his wife Lucy Torres won in their bids as representative of the fourth district of Leyte and city mayor, respectively.

Torres defeated Ondo Cadilla while Gomez defeated former Commission on Elections commissioner Gregorio Larrazabal. – Victor Martin, Edith Regalado, Miriam Desacada, Michelle Zoleta


  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with