Third terms for Las Piñas, Makati mayors

Neil Jayson Servallos, Ralph Edwin Villanueva - The Philippine Star

MANILA, Philippines — Mayors Imelda Aguilar of Las Piñas and Abby Binay of Makati won their bids for a third and final term.

Aguilar won with 108,644 votes, defeating Ferds Eusebio, who garnered 38,285 votes.

The mayor’s daughter, April, retained her seat as vice mayor with 123,457 votes compared to Bishop Jerry delos Reyes with 44,991.

Las Piñas Rep. Camille Villar was also reelected after garnering 130,812 votes compared to lawyer Louie Redoble with 65,751 votes.

Binay was proclaimed mayor yesterday morning with 338,819 votes against her rival, independent candidate Joel Hernandez, who got 16,640 votes.

Her running mate, reelectionist Vice Mayor Monique Lagdameo, also won with 314,070 votes against rival Rod Biolena, also an independent candidate, who got 22,498 votes.

Binay’s husband, Jose Luis Campos, was reelected as the city’s District 2 representative. He won against Ricardo Opoc who got 14,838 votes.

District 1 Rep. Romulo “Kid” Peña Jr. – who dealt Abby’s father, former vice president Jejomar Binay Sr. his second-biggest political loss in 2019 – was re-elected with 146,131 votes. He ran this year under Binay’s Makatizens United.

Outgoing Parañaque Rep. Eric Olivarez and his brother, outgoing Mayor Edwin Olivarez, exchanged seats.

The outgoing lawmaker received 174,816 votes to win the mayoral seat. Second in the race was Jun Zaide with 64,263 votes.

Joan Villafuerte, however, defeated Olivarez’ running mate Binky Favis, receiving 102,760 votes compared to the latter’s 89,131.

The outgoing mayor had 91,241 votes, defeating Jayson Moral, who received 5,662 votes.

Muntinlupa Rep. Ruffy Biazon and Mayor Jaime Fresnedi successfully traded positions following landslide wins.

Biazon, who is running for mayor, received 180,742 votes compared to Red Marinas’ 60,434 votes.

Fresnedi, who ran for the congressional seat, had 183,085 votes compared to Silverio Garing’s 52,530 votes.

Incumbent Vice Mayor Artemio Simundac won his reelection bid, defeating Oyo Boy Dioko, 131,882 to 97,567.



  • Latest
  • Trending
Are you sure you want to log out?

Philstar.com is one of the most vibrant, opinionated, discerning communities of readers on cyberspace. With your meaningful insights, help shape the stories that can shape the country. Sign up now!

or sign in with